RSS Feed

Living Simple and Do It Yourself

Do it yourself!  Where has that mantra gone in today’s society?  We seem to be a society of convenience first and initiative second, and I wonder how much longer we can keep this up?

Who can afford to pay a car mechanic, or a plumber, or an electrician, $100 per hour to solve our problems?  I grew up learning from my dad, but I had forgotten the lessons, as the young have a tendency to do.  My dad would fix anything; he may not know how but he would ask questions until he learned.  Washing machine stop?  Take off the back, get your head in there, and figure out what the problem is!  Car needs new plugs?  Then change them for God’s sake!

I can clearly remember dad’s work friends coming over and helping him re-wire the rec room.  They shared knowledge until they got the job done.

We need to get back to that way of life in America, and Living Simple demands it.  Give me some scrap lumber and I can build just about anything I need around the house or yard; it may not look perfect but it gets the job done.  $400 for a chicken coop?  You gotta be kidding me!  I can do the job for $10, and the chickens have no idea nor do they care.

Living Simple….Do it yourself….it’s all about a new state of mind!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

6 responses »

  1. Amen! I agree and I love that philosophy. Our problem is that HGTV makes it look like everything has to be perfect but it really doesn’t. It just has to work. Great post, Bill!

    Reply
    • I’ve known people who can’t act unless conditions are perfect….and so they never act, because perfection is a dream at best. Thank you my friend! Have a great week at school!

      Reply
  2. Andrew is just like you!! He loves to make things with leftovers.

    Reply
  3. Hey Bill! I was never handy until I became a homeowner, paying someone to do something I can do myself is not an option!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

