RSS Feed

Do It Yourself and Living Simple

Yes, you can do it yourself.  Yesterday was a perfect example of stepping up to the plate and hitting a homerun.

Bev’s brother was visiting this weekend, and when he went out to his car yesterday it would not start.  After some discussion we figured it had something to do with the fuel line, fuel filter, or fuel pump.  With the use of the internet and some experimenting, he finally got it to start last night.  Turned out to be a relay from the fuse, so the fuel pump wouldn’t pump properly.  Bottom line…fixing it himself cost $20 as opposed to spending $100 per hour for a mechanic.

Later in the day the hand vacuum quit working.  Bev calmly took it apart, found the problem, rigged a solution, and it’s working again.  This is the same lady who replaces the brake pads on our car.

Living Simple….getting back to basics….not spending frivolously…..that’s what I’m talking about!

Living a simpler lifestyle

Yes, that is a picture of our backyard.  Please notice that laundry is drying on a clothesline, and the lawn is brown because we have not watered it all summer long.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

10 responses »

  1. LOL. Okay, so I have a hubby who studied mechanical engineering, so when something breaks in the house, yes, I call upon his expertise to fix things. I could figure it out, but it’ll take me five hours compared to his 20 minutes. LOL. But, well, I’ve spent half the day sanding a new wooden table. OK, OK, hubby built the table, but I’m designing it, refinishing…and will have a hub about it. But it’s all in the spirit of living simply. 😀

    Reply
  2. LOL…..Sis, you crack me up! Let’s just call it a team effort so you get equal credit for it all. 🙂 You are absolutely correct, it is in the spirit if living simply.

    Reply
  3. Finally getting a free moment to check out your blog and you truly are my hero Bill with DIY. I totally love that Bev changes her brake pads herself too. You too rock in my book and have taught me so much about living simple. Thanks 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Janine! I happen to think you are pretty special too. I have to go look at your blog, which I just discovered today. If the customers would leave me alone and let me play, I could do all these things on my to do list. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Your wife is my hero. I am so NOT mechanical. That’s impressive!

    Reply
  5. She is more mechanical than I am for sure…..or more obstinate. 🙂

    Reply
  6. I loved this one Billy and looking forward to exploring further.
    Great work and enjoy your day.
    Eddy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

