RSS Feed

Social Responsibility and Fuel Economy

Okay, I have to concede, not everyone can make it in our modern world without a car.  I get it!  We have one car, a Honda Fit, and in the near future we will add a motor scooter for those times when we really don’t need the car but still need to get somewhere fairly quickly.

For those who need a car, but who are looking for better gas mileage, here is a list of the top fuel efficient vehicles for 2012-2013.  http://www.thesupercars.org/top-cars/most-fuel-efficient-cars/

It should come as no surprise that the Toyota Prius leads the pack with an impressive 51 mpg in the city.

What is it with Americans and their love of big vehicles?  Every time I see a Hummer on the street I want to scream!  Every time I see a F-350 I want to scream louder!  Every time I see a full-size SUV I want to scream louder still!  I simply do not get it. It is socially irresponsible to drive something that large that drinks gas like you and I drink water.

Yes, I said socially irresponsible, and I won’t take the statement back no matter whose feelings I may have harmed.  What statement are people trying to make by driving a vehicle that gets 15 mpg?  Facts are facts….we have a fuel crisis in the world.  Hello!!!!  Is anyone out there listening?

Living Simple is about responsible choices that are good for you and good for society.  It is not about showing everyone how rich you are, or how powerful you are, or measuring your self-worth by the size of your possessions.

Size does matter with regards to automobiles; smaller will always be better for society.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. My rinky-dink little car does it for me. 🙂 Though, I would like to “upgrade” to a slightly bigger car, preferably a VW diesel. See, I just had an acquaintance killed in a car accident – and she drove the same car as me. Yikes! I mean, of course you never know, but I always feel like I’m a bug waiting to be squashed in my little car…I think I want to get something just a teeny bit bigger. If people didn’t drive those Hummers and behemoth SUV’s, I wouldn’t give my little car a second thought. Grrr.

    Reply
  2. Cyndi, people are lucky that I’m not running the country…Hummers would be forbidden on the streets of this country. Anyway, we don’t want you squashed! That would not be a good thing. 🙂

    Reply
  3. As I was rounding the bend in my small town, on my way to the recycling depot with bags full of bottles and cans in my ’98 Ford (35 mpg – we call her Frances Ford Coupola), a Hummer pulled out from a side street into the other lane. Now I’m not usually one to judge others but I was busy making certain anatomical assumptions as we passed each other. Needless to say, I’d be thrilled to elect you to the position of Hummer control officer. In the interests of not having a stroke from the behavior of such soporific darlings, I listened to a song on YouTube when I came home – and I pass it along to refuel your humor tank: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-o30wacwdoc

    Reply
  4. As I hide my head in shame (I have Jeep Liberty), but only because having two girls I literally can;t go much smaller in transporting them and all their stuff all over town and let’s not even start about when I run errands with them. Ok enough said, so very true and will most likely looking to downsize once my kids are older, but right now I just practically can’t.

    Reply
  5. I wish we could figure out how to live on one car. So far, it hasn’t worked, but I would love to! We drive Toyotas- a Camry and a Sienna. Not too bad gas wise. We all the kids and animals we gotta cart around! LOL

    Reply
    • It’s those damn animals, Julie! LOL….we have had one car now for six months and it has worked out fine, but then I work at home, Bev works part time, and only one kid and she is in high school and will be driving herself around in her own car next year. It’s hard for a family to do it…..but then….and I’m not saying this towards you….when we were growing up nobody had two cars. Somehow families managed, but I’m not sure how they did it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

