RSS Feed

Walking For A Longer Life

I ran across an interesting article on Yahoo about how to walk 10,000 steps per day.

For those of you who are math challenged (and that includes this author) that is the equivalent of about five miles of walking per day.  That of course got me thinking about how far I walk on any given day, and the results fall a bit short of the five miles per day goal.

Weekends, of course, I probably hit the goal, but weekdays are a whole different ball of wax.  Bev and I go for a walk most days, and we have measured it out to a mile-and-a-half.  Tossing in miscellaneous walking and I probably walk two miles per day, Monday through Friday.  Far short for sure, but I’m not sure how I can increase that and still get my writing done.  I would imagine that most people who work would say the same thing.

Anyway, the point is, of course, that the more walking you do the better your health will be and the longer you live, and as a general statement I can see the truth in it.  I was always active and I attribute, in part, my good health to that fact.  I played competitive sports until I was forty-five, and I have hiked and climbed extensively over the years.  In fact, Bev and I still go for hikes in the mountains and snowshoe in the winter, so it’s not like I have pulled the plug on physical exercise.

Still, I could do more, and as my age advance, I can definitely see that I need to increase the amount of exercise if I plan on having any kind of retirement lifestyle that does not include a cane or walker.

The point of the article is that we need to find ways to increase our walking.  Park further away from your destination and walk the rest of the way.  Go for a daily walk.  Take the stairs in a building rather than the elevator.  There are quite a few ways to increase our walking if we make a conscious effort to do so, and like all things, it all comes down to our level of willingness.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

9 responses »

  1. I think if I had one of those pedometer gadget thingys, my competitive edge would lead me to figure out a way to type while marching in place. just sayin.

    Reply
  2. You could attach your computer to a treadmill and type and walk. LOL. I’m with ya there…need to walk more. But, writing is a time consuming process. LOL. Love this post. You’re a cool person, too, Big Bro. Egads, we MUST be related. I mean, math? Me? Yeah, right.

    Reply
  3. LOL I hadn’t thought of that; there is a good chance it would be.

    Reply
  4. Cyndi, we unfortunately live 3000 miles away, or for sure you and I would go for a walk and laugh ourselves silly. 🙂

    Reply
  5. We too have stopped walking as much with the fall coming now, because by the time Kevin gets home it is pretty much dark outside now and with the girls it is just impossible to do this. In the summer when it stay dark out later, we do walk almost every night. I too have to figure out how and when I can squeeze a bit more of exercise in and around my crazy schedule. Thanks for some added motivation though 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

