RSS Feed

Our Garden Update and Plans For The Future

Posted on

It has been a non-stop day of writing and it is now 5:18 in the early evening and I don’t want to post to my blog!  So here I am because I wouldn’t be able to relax knowing that I had taken a shortcut and skipped this blog.

What to write about?  My brain is fried after too many SEO articles today, so coming up with a creative subject is not going to happen.  Why don’t I tell you about our garden?

We harvested everything from our first garden, and it was a bountiful year.  The only thing that didn’t grow the way we had envisioned was the corn, and that is always iffy in western Washington, so we didn’t feel bad about it at all.  You can see pictures of the garden right after we planted last April.

Now that the harvest is over, it’s time to plan for next year.  We have already built two more raised beds, and the lumber is ready for the other three we are building.  We are almost done building the lettuce table, a wonderful idea I picked up on HubPages.

We still have some sod to dig up to make room for the new additions, but that’s one day of work and no worries about getting that done before the rains arrive.

We have drawn up our planting scheme, so we are all ready to go when the spring gets here. We will basically be doubling our growing area next year, so we are pretty excited about the prospects.

Oh, I almost forgot, we are adding chickens next spring.  We have to built a chicken coop (there is no way I’m buying one for $400) and that will take a few days, but it will be pretty cool to have four or five chickens giving us eggs daily.

So that’s it from our little urban farm.  Living Simple baby!  Lovin’ every minute of it!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

9 responses »

  1. That is awesome Bill and for some reason I was picturing “I Love Lucy” when they raised chickens when you said that you’d be raising chickens. I know a bit corny, but loved that show and that episode specifically. Anyway, I think you guys have something wonderful going and very happy and excited for you too 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a great plan! Maybe I’ll have chickens one of these days. Very cool. 🙂

    Reply
  3. We want chickens, too, but have to build a chicken coop. One of these days. It’s amazing: if we’re not writing, we’re doing a project, doing this and that and this and that. I love it, though. Wouldn’t trade it for the world. Here’s to you having a fruitful garden. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks Cyndi! We don’t know the first thing about building a coop, but we’ll learn and we’ll love it.

    Reply
  5. Melanie Chisnall

    My word, your garden is HUGE Bill! If I had a garden that size I don’t think I’d get any writing work done…I’d be too busy planting things and playing around, lol! Looking forward to reading more on the expansion and the chicken coop. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Mel! It is big and getting bigger, and we are excited about it. We love to go out there early in the morning and see how much the plants have grown. LOL Very relaxing….and now on to the chickens!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

