RSS Feed

Great Creative Garden Ideas That Cost Nothing

Posted on

Today I want to highlight a great article I read from Suzie, a friend I met on HubPages.  Her article about 50 great recycled container planting ideas ties in very well with Living Simple.

The point of the article is that there are so many things around the house that can be used for container planting.  My favorite in her article is a bunch of colorful rubber boots that are lined up on a bench; I have also seen them nailed to a fence.  They give a great splash of color, not only from the boots, but also from the flowers in the boots…..and it would basically cost nothing to do.

Bev and I have found some great giveaways at garage sales this summer, and many of them will be used as containers next year.  We found a wonderful wicker 3-shelf piece that will hold wicker baskets with plants.  We found an old dresser for free, and we are going to open the drawers and fill them will dirt and have trailing plants growing in the drawers.

Old wheelbarrels can be used as planters, and I have even seen old toilets used as containers.

What I want to impress upon you is that one does not have to go spend big bucks for the garden; every day household items can serve as unique and creative vessels in a garden, and give that garden a spice of whimsy.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

11 responses »

  1. I agree Bill. Creativity not only helps ignite one of the nerves in our brain but also gives the spark of savings…cheers!
    With regards to savings…I am considered a queen in my household…lol

    Reply
  2. Wow, you always come up with some really great ideas on how to recycle and reuse; of course you didn’t disappoint here either!! 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  3. victorialynnhodges

    Great ideas! I’ve heard others give ideas about whimsy containers for plantings in the yard!

    Reply
  4. Those cool garden containers also make for interesting stories to tell, hehe. Awesome!

    Reply
  5. There is something so “homey” about recycled containers. My husband loves to do this with your plants. 🙂

    Reply
  6. I agree, Julie; it may not look great like store-bought, but it has a character that I am attracted to. Thank you my dear; sorry i didn’t get to yours today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

