RSS Feed

The World Bank Warns of Tougher Times Ahead

Posted on

There was an interesting news release yesterday, and yes, it ties in with Living Simple.

The head of the World Bank warned that the world economy needs 600 million new jobs to be created over the next 15 years, or we are facing some serious economic trouble.  In fact, he is convinced that we are going to see a much larger recession within the next year or two.

He went on to state that the problems in Europe are going to affect the rest of the world, and that this insistence on exporting goods as a means of supporting our economies is destined to fail.  Even China is seeing huge declines in their exports.

The sooner countries learn to add jobs within their own country, the sooner the economic crisis will be lessened.

Africa and Asia face certain crisis by 2020, but in effect, because we are all global economies, it will be felt by all nations.

Finally, he said the upcoming election should be about which candidate can deliver the most jobs to the country, and that believing in the creation of service jobs is a no-win scenario.  Manufacturing and infra-structure jobs are needed in the United States or else the economy will only get worse.

I don’t know about you, but I consider that news to be concerned over.  I didn’t really need the World Bank to tell me what I already knew….this recession is not getting better by a long shot, and many of us believe it is going to get much worse.

Living Simple is the only solution for the average family.  Debt needs to be lessened, and each family needs to find a way to become more self-sufficient.  I don’t know any other way to say that so it is clearer.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

9 responses »

  1. Well said Bill. The economy is not going to change or get better unless someone does something about it. I just don’t have faith in either candidate though and that is the sad reality right now. I do hope that I am wrong, but if history has proven what has happened in the past few elections and is any indication then we are in serious trouble and am certainly just slightly frightened now.

    Reply
    • Janine, you are such a good person. I don’t want to frighten people; I simply want them aware so they can start taking steps. I have never been an alarmist, but I am someone who believes in myself to take the steps necessary to protect me and my family. I hope I’m wrong but I’ll be ready if I’m right. 🙂 Thank you!

      Reply
      • Bill, no worries you didn’t frighten me. I have already been frightened by all I keep hearing in the news lately and you are right that we do need to be educated on this and take steps to try to protect our families. Seriously, I thank you for always telling it like it is and for being a source of constant inspiration and help during these times 🙂

  2. Melanie Chisnall

    Good grief! 600 million new jobs?! That’s insane! You’re right though, things aren’t getting better. Petrol (gas) just gets more expensive, food prices go up and salaries don’t increase. Or companies feel the pinch and need to retrench people. Living simple is the way to go. Great post! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Mel! I’m just trying to raise awareness; too many people think they are okay if they have a job and a home, that this will all blow over. It will blow over alright….like a hurricane!

      Reply
  3. Let’s see…I once read this book (um, I do a LOT of reading, LOL) called “How to Survive Without a Salary.” The guy talked about our capitalist economy and how it has to “expand” to survive – which means more consumption, more exploitation of resources, more money to be made…and it’s unsustainable and we’re headed for disaster. More so than anything else in that book, I thought he was right. I also think that until we can come to terms with the fact that our world as we know it is no longer the case (the world of getting whatever we want, having huge SUVs, whatever food, clothes and material things) and we need to scale back and reinvent ourselves on the local level – where we all do some gardening, and don’t consume so much, buy local food (instead of it being shipped 1000s of miles) and try to live sustainably, we’re not going to prosper. Interesting post. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Cyndi, I think the guy was right on, and unfortunately, there are many out there who have a job, a home, a few comforts, and they think everything is alright. I think we are on the brink of disaster the likes of which we have not seen……and again, I hope I’m wrong.

    Thanks buddy; at least you and I will be alright. LOL

    Reply
  5. Ugh. It’s true…people will have to start looking at reality, rather than the constant entertainment entitlement mindset that pervades our society now..

    Reply
  6. Julie, I can only hope that more people wake up….it could get ugly in the next couple years. Thank you for the visit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

