RSS Feed

Are You Enjoying The Simple Pleasures of Life?

Posted on

I came across a Hub on the writers’ site HubPages this morning, and the theme is about the simple pleasures in life.  Here it is if you want to read it…..go here!

The point is that we spend a great deal of time and money planning for the big pleasures….a new bigscreen television…..an upcoming vacation…..a new car….and we get so busy taking care of the everyday events in life, that there are times we overlook the simple pleasures that are all around us.

Fall has arrived with a vengeance right now, and as I look out the window the leaves are cascading down around me, greens and oranges and yellows and reds, a veritable blizzard of color.  The clouds are flying past at breakneck speed, and the whole scene changes every ten seconds, or so it seems.

One of our dogs, Atticus, is curled up at my feet as I type this; his tail is wagging and soon he will stand up and put his head in my lap, and look up at me with those big brown eyes that are filled with love, and my heart will melt.

Bev will be home around four and I’ll have prepared dinner, and we will sit, holding hands, and have dinner together and review our days. 

Those are simple pleasures and they are so special.  I do not have dreams of glory.  I do not have dreams of riches.  What I do have dreams of is living my life in such a way that I can enjoy each and every minute of the mundane nature of life.  I have everything that I need and want in life right now, and it doesn’t cost me a penny.

I am rich in so many ways, and I will continue to remain rich as long as I keep living simple!

Can you think of three simple pleasures in your day right now?

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

9 responses »

  1. Again, you say it just like it is and so very true. As I write this to you Lily had awoken crying from her nap and is now sleeping with her head on my lap. As much as it may be a bit of a pain to type like this, I wouldn’t have it any other way, because secretly I love that she is so cuddly and a mush with me. Also, I know this will not last forever. Thanks for reminding me to enjoy these simple moments 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  2. My kids arguing in my face, my pretend thanksgiving dinner, my kitten.

    Reply
  3. Simple things: the quietness of the early morning. Couldn’t sleep for some reason – and I went to bed late! – but it’s nice working while the sun is peeking over the mountains with the first rays of morning light. Wearing my hat, robe, socks and covered in a blanket – I love it! Here’s to the simple life. 🙂

    Reply
    • cyndi, it sounds like you and Bev wear the same outfit in the morning. LOL I love the early morning as the sun is just coming up. Thank you my dear; you mean a great deal to me, and even though I don’t hang out on Facebook with the rest of you, I do appreciate you very much.

      Reply
  4. Now with Autumn here and the fact I have recently swapped city life to a life in the country, I love the log fire we have and its a simple pleasure that brings so much contentment!

    Reply
  5. Melanie Chisnall

    I love reading your posts Bill, always reminds me of what’s important in life. 🙂

    3 simple pleasures in my day today:

    (1) The wind isn’t blowing today and the sun is shining so I can take a lunch break in the sun – happy days!

    (2) My hubby is on late shift, so I get to wake him up with a cup of coffee

    (3) I have two gorgeous (and very spoilt!) cats for company during my day so that I don’t talk to myself

    Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

