RSS Feed

Do You Buy For Need or Buy For Want?

Posted on

I would like to introduce you to a new friend of mine….Stephanie is her name, and you can read her very first article here http://stephanieb27.hubpages.com/_2kxahfxxz113e/hub/Finding-Extra-Money-for-Christmas.

What I like about Stephanie is that she is in her twenties, as is her husband, and they are embracing the Living Simple Lifestyle.  They have paid off all of their debt with the exception of their mortgage, and I find that remarkable for people that young.

I started out that way back in the day.  I remember my dad was always trying to slip me five bucks for spending money, but even at an early age I really didn’t want money because I had everything I needed.  I got my first job when I was fifteen, and that provided any spending money I might need. Even then, I ended up saving most of the money I made.

That all came to a screeching halt when I married at 28. That lady loved to spend money, and buy new things for the house, etc.  I’m not blaming her; it’s just who she was, and I could certainly have said no, but I didn’t.  Thus began a few decades of spending and credit cards and that endless hole one digs for themselves.

Now I’m back on track and credit is a six-letter bad word, and Bev and I concentrate on those things we actually need; the rest is tucked away for a rainy day when we will actually need to spend it.

As always, Living Simple is about need rather than want, and Bev and I have never been happier.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

12 responses »

  1. Bill, you and Bev always are just inspiration. I can tell you we do try, but unfortunately with young kids now I have trouble being as frugal and simple as I’d like to be right now. That said wonderful message as always and keep up the good work 🙂 🙂

    Reply
    • Janine, I really appreciate you; I hope you know that! Yes, no doubt, with two little kids it is certainly not easy. As long as it is in the back of your mind, little steps will be taken when they can. When the girls are grown, you will know how to do this. 🙂

      Reply
  2. When I was younger, my spending habits were more like saving habits. Almost every penny I earned from my jobs (and I do say jobs because I had 3 in high school) I saved. Sadly, those savings disappeared rapidly once I entered the real world. Now my husband and I are trying to get back on track and back out of debt. It is encouraging that it can happen though.

    Reply
  3. we are so close to being in that same position..just gotta keep trucking along on that darn student loan!!!

    Reply
  4. Paid off student loans, car loans, home repair loans and saved up just enough to live on for when I quit my job. 🙂 Lovin’ it. Now…the trick is holding on to a little bit of that savings, but it was there for when we needed to spend it. LOL. Now, I’m holding out…really hoping I don’t have to go out and get a part time job, LOL. You rock, Big Bro. Your encouragement and outpouring of Big Brotherly Love is just so inspiring to me and I appreciate you more than you will ever know. 🙂

    Reply
    • and Cyndi, it does my heart good to see how far you have come, and how much you are loving life now that you control your destiny. Do you know how many people would kill to be in your position? Keep doing what you are doing and you will keep getting what you are getting. 🙂 Thanks lil’ Sis!

      Reply
      • Just had to come back. Your comment made me grin. And, yes…from some of my old friends, I’ve experienced a sense of “omg, she actually did it and I didn’t and good for her, but damn her at the same time because I’m not doing that and I’m stuck” when I’ve met up with some of my fellow teacher-friends from school. It’s sobering, but I’m not waiting for jealousy. I’m too busy making my dreams come true. 🙂

      • Cyndi, I run into that all the time. Like “how dare you quit a job and do nothing but write at home.” lol sucks to be them, but not me! 🙂

  5. Melanie Chisnall

    We were there a few years ago. We had two cars fully paid off and we rented our house. That was the BEST feeling in the world. And then the cars had problems that cost way too much money, so we decided to invest in buying one new car and selling the 2nd one. Would love to not have the debt, but unfortunately in today’s age – a car is a necessity. And one that doesn’t continuously give problems and need repairing. Otherwise, we’re quite happy with our new veggie garden and I can’t remember the last time I bought new clothes. Withdrawal symptoms – but just keeping going. Your posts are my inspiration! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Mel, there are withdrawal symptoms from time to time….they pop up when I least expect them. We are programmed to spend money….but it does get easier. Now, having said that, if we can just make it through the Christmas season without spending too much. lol Thank you Mel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

