RSS Feed

The Jobless Rate Drops….Or Does It?

Posted on

wash d.c.An interesting article appeared this morning about the jobless rate dropping to its lowest level since 2008. http://finance.yahoo.com/news/us-economy-adds-146k-jobs-133151784.html

Good news, right?  Well, it seems that the drop is due to many people deciding to stop looking for work, which means they are no longer counted in the jobless statistics.  Oops!  Maybe things didn’t improve after all!

As a matter of fact, there were 49,000 fewer jobs created by businesses in the last quarter, far below the prediction.

So, the economy….what to do?

Living Simple is one solution!  I feel like I’m beating a dead horse, but I gotta tell you, and I say this in all honesty, the economy does not affect Bev and I.  We have carved out a niche that basically insulates us from the woes of the economy.  How did we do it?

We dropped out, as much as that is possible to do.  We got rid of everything we didn’t need; we stopped using credit for purchases.  We lowered our bills to a level where we didn’t have to work full-time for anyone but ourselves.  We are, in fact, in control of our own destinies, and I have to tell you….that is a wonderful feeling.

We now have time to enjoy life.  We no longer worry about the economy, or the tax rates, or the job picture, or whether or not we will be laid off….we just concentrate on our own business and let the cards fall where they will.

It is liberating!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

10 responses »

  1. I knew exactly where yo u were going with this and you couldn’t be more right if you tried. Seriously, so true about jobs and they economy (sadly), but your solution is so correct my friend. Thank you seriously!! Hope you are enjoying your Friday and have a good weekend, too!!

    Reply
  2. We have the same situation. Even the reports here about thousands of new jobs available are for minimum wage part-time work with no benefits. You have the solution well in hand. Now the tricky part… implementing it 🙂

    Reply
    • Alex, those statistics are pretty misleading, as I’ve written about in the past. Bills that accumulated while working a high-paying job do not get paid when one is suddenly working a low-paying job. I don’t know who the government thinks they are fooling with these reports; I hope most people see the truth in them. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Janine – oh, wonderful Janine. 🙂 Right there with you, BB. Though…I DO love technology and I’m itching to get a new computer before this one dies. lol

    Reply
    • Cyndi, you are always right there with me, and I hope you know how much I appreciate you. For me, it is a new camera. That will be my next tech purchase. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Some day, we will join you and Bev (not in your home, though). Some day…

    Reply
  5. Aaaah Bill! Your words are music to my ears. If only more people would get into the habit of doing this. Sure, the money isn’t rolling (or even trickling much) in right now…but I have faith that it will soon – next year *fingers crossed*. I wouldn’t swap it for that type of slave labour I was in though. Never ever again. I hope to teach my children one day how to use their talents and abilities to carve out a niche for themselves in the world. It’s the way to go! Great post!!

    Reply
    • Mel, I wouldn’t want my life any other way; I will never return to the rat race and allow my life to be controlled by outside influences. I love that you are happy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

