RSS Feed

Remembering A Christmas Past

001This weekend we are going out at night and look at the Christmas lights displays around town.  It is something I have done since I was a little kid, sitting in the backseat of our Ford Fairlane while dad drove us around town.

When I was little, downtown Tacoma, where I grew up, used to have great displays in the department store windows.  Nothing like we see now; these displays were works of fine craftsmanship, with moving parts and a sense of awe while you looked at them.  All the streets of downtown were lit up, and it was a joy just going downtown to see the displays.

I still find that same sense of wonder today at my advanced age.   Christmas is the one time of year when all the atrocities of the world seem to fade, and the feeling of love and goodwill take center stage.

Wouldn’t it be nice if Christmas came daily, so that goodwill would stick around awhile?

Living Simple is my way of returning to the old days, when life seemed to be less hectic and a whole lot friendlier.  For those of you who are ridiculously young, you may not know what I’m talking about, but I clearly remember walking those streets in downtown Tacoma, and people would say “Merry Christmas” as you passed them, and there would be smiles on the faces that you passed.

It was a time when entertainment for a family consisted of getting in that old car and driving around in awe of the incredible lighted displays, and laughing with mom and dad, and singing Christmas songs as we drove.

I will keep clinging to those times because, quite frankly, they were important, and today’s world could benefit from those lessons of long ago.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. I was just thinking that too! I remember taking my baby boy around our neighborhood in his stroller for his first Christmas. He was just 6 months, but his eyes got all big looking at those lights. He was captivated, and I loved it too.

    Whatever happened to those simple joys in life?

    Reply
  2. Oh even though I was born in the 1970’s, I am still old enough to remember some of those simpler times and we used to go see many of those light displays, too in our neck of the woods. Thanks for sharing and making me conjure up some very wonderful childhood memories 🙂

    Reply
  3. It’s fun driving around and looking at the lights – it’s a free (well, except the gas) and really fun activity to do. 🙂 I might have to incorporate that tradition this year. We used to do that when I was younger, but as an adult, I haven’t done it much. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

    Reply
  4. That sounds like such fun! We’ve never done anything like that but I’ve always wanted to. Maybe this weekend will be a good idea to give it a try and see what’s happening in our area. Enjoy it Bill! And please share some pictures if you feel like snapping a few shots 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

