RSS Feed

How Many Hours Each Day Do You Enjoy Yourself?

loving life on a hikeHow many hours per day do you spend doing things you want to do and enjoy doing?  It’s a serious question, so take a moment to figure out a rough estimate.

Okay, time is up!  I spend, on average, seven hours out of twenty-four sleeping, so out of the other seventeen I spend seventeen hours doing what I consider enjoyable activities.

Now how about you?  If you work full-time, then we will hope that you enjoy your work; otherwise, that’s one big chunk of your day doing something you do not enjoy.

How much time do you spend with your family and loved ones?

How much time do you spend on a hobby or an interest of yours?

How much time do you spend exercising and taking care of your health?

How much time do you spend just relaxing and doing nothing?

Do you see where this is going?

Yes, this writer spends 17/17 each day doing things I enjoy.  I am either spending time with Bev or I am writing, both of which are enjoyable passions of mine.  Now compare that to the old days when I felt I needed to work more and more hours to pay for more and more possessions.  I was working 8-12 hours per day out of the seventeen….add travel time, and I had very little time to enjoy life.

Do you get the point?

Living Simple is all about figuring out your priorities and then changing your life accordingly.

And here is something many will not want to hear:  our lives are only complicated if we choose to make them complicated.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

12 responses »

  1. I got you loud and clear my friend and thanks for the wonderful message here 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  2. So true Bill, and so simple.

    Reply
  3. Great message. So correct. 🙂

    Reply
  4. work.
    spend.
    work.
    spend.
    PROMOTION.
    work more.
    spend more.
    work more.
    spend more.
    when.
    does.
    it.
    stop
    ?

    Reply
  5. Bill, it annoys me when I hear people say that they “have no choice”, or that they “have to work” in a job they hate. It’s not true. And you’re right. We ALL have CHOICES where we want to be in life. Sometimes it’s too comfortable for some or scary to try and change, and that’s sad. Great post!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you Mel! Even though I understand why some say that, I agree with you, they just don’t understand that they do, indeed, have a choice….and they have already made it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

