RSS Feed

Keeping Family Traditions Alive

My son during one of your traditions...a vacation trip together

My son during one of your traditions…a vacation trip together

Living Simple!  I have concerns; for anyone who knows me, that last statement shouldn’t come as a shock.

I have concerns about the basic family unit in this country.

I was thinking back to my childhood and some of the traditions we had.  Every Sunday we would go for a drive as a family.  It usually lasted an hour or two, and as I recall, my dad was usually in charge in determining a destination, but still, it was pretty much set in stone that on Sunday afternoon we were going for that drive.

Now of course, as I got older, I was much more interested in playing sports on those afternoons, but it really wasn’t up for debate.  Sundays were family days and that was all there was to it.

I’m wondering how many families in the United States have “family time.”  Certain traditions, like the one I just mentioned, that go on month after month and year after year;  I think they are important, and I’ll tell you why.

Life is moving at much too fast a pace nowadays.  In many families both parents work.  In many families, the kids are signed up for ten activities. In many families, there is no time for family time.

Now, read that again….there is no time for family time!

I find that sad!

I think traditions are an important part of any family; we still do things that were done by my parents, and their parents, and their grandparents.  It is a sort of bonding of generations, and a passing down of history, and I think every family should have it.

What traditions are you creating for your family?

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

10 responses »

  1. So true Bill and we try to sit with the kids every night and read at least one book before bedtime. I seem to also have to give Lily a bit more attention during the day, so now I have taken to have Emma snuggle a bit with me at night watching one of her shows before we go to bed. She loves it and usually goes right to bed happily once her show is over. I try to pretty much let my kids know that we are here for them, but do hope everyday it is enough.

    Reply
  2. We always did dinner growing up – no matter what. Even now, when I go back home to visit, we always have the mandatory family meals, hehe. My hubby and I try to make Sunday the sacred day, but not always. Something to strive for, me thinks. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Even “family” itself is a dying tradition. Each generation it seems, more and more kids are growing up without both Mom and Dad, and lots of kids don’t even have one parent, much less two. They drift from one foster family to the next without anyone that they can really call “family.”.

    Sad. So sad.

    Reply
  4. Well, I don’t have a family yet but I have all kinds of ideas of what we might do together as a family in the future. I think spending time together as a family is very important. My parents took us on Sunday afternoon drives every now and then. I wish we did more things like that together, but I’m grateful for the times that we were together and having fun. I think there’s a limit though…growing up, we knew of one family who did EVERYTHING together. And I mean everything. If someone needed something small from the shop – the whole family went. It was a bit ridiculous! Loved your message here Bill…so, so important 🙂

    Reply
    • I agree with you, Mel! There were times growing up when I didn’t want my parents anywhere near me. LOL I’ll tell you this in all honesty….when you do finally have your own family, you are going to be a fantastic mother. 🙂

      Thank you and Merry Christmas!

      Reply
  5. When I was young, we had family dinner, at the table, just about every night. And as the years pass, we got older, had more things going on, my mom went to work, and then college. And family dinner kind of faded away.
    As an adult, I really miss it. It’s on my relationships must list now. Dinner, at the table, most nights. It doesn’t seem like much, but it’s one of those small things that is so significant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

