RSS Feed

How Stressful Is Your Job?

Posted on

wash d.c.I saw an article this morning about some study concerning the least stressful and most stressful careers.

The most stressful….well, I’ll just let you read it for yourself…..

By contrast, jobs with the military made up the two most stressful careers on CareerCast’s list: enlisted personnel, followed by generals. Firefighters, commercial airline pilots, and public relations executives followed as top high-stress careers. Other high-stress jobs included:       

  • ·         Senior corporate executives   
  • ·         Photojournalists
  • ·         Newspaper reporters             
  • ·         Taxi drivers
  • ·         Police officers    

 

Now the reason I mention all this is because I have no stress in my career as a writer.  None….zero….nada!  Come to think of it, during most of my teaching career I also had no stress.

Why you ask?  Simply because I loved teaching, and I love writing, and therein lies a very important lesson for those of you just starting out or considering a career change.

By their very definition, careers last a long time.  Many years are usually devoted to our chosen career, and if you do not love that career you are inviting stress, and as we all know, stress can be a killer.

I have been working now for over forty-five years, and rarely did that work involve stress for me.  Part of that has to do with who I am; for the most part I am one of those who enjoys working.  I set goals for myself and I have expectations of myself, and in meeting those goals and expectations I find joy and satisfaction.  I am a low-key person by nature, so stress is not something I normally encounter.A Saturday drive in late April, 2012 005

I would submit to you that if your career causes daily stress you might want to consider a career change.  I know, easier said than done, but considering the fact that stress shortens our lives, I wonder just how wise it is to continue working in a stressful situation?

Just food for thought; as for me, I’m going to continue Living Simple.  To borrow from an old saying, if it ain’t broke then don’t fix it!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

6 responses »

  1. So true Bill about if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. I love how you discussed how teaching and writing are stressful for you and even though both can entail a lot of work, I am with you it not being stressful if you do enjoy it. Perfectly said 🙂

    Reply
    • Janine, I never felt stress teaching until my last year; the principal decided to make things too hard on everyone, and I labored with my decision to quit…I finally did and it was the best decision I could have made.

      Reply
  2. Well said, BB. I have been less fortunate and seem to have a knack at finding stressful jobs, especially teaching ones. But, I’m figuring out how NOT to be stressed by picking and choosing what I want to do. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Bill….you’re speaking my language here! I haven’t been a police officer, but I can tell you what job stress is like. You’re right – it comes partly from doing what you don’t love. Not all of us can do what we love, but we have to work toward it somehow and stop with the complaining and excuses. If you don’t like your job, DO something about it. I’m so glad I read this post of yours because it’s reminded me that I need to get my butt into gear with the website I’m working on – it’s in this direction and I’m quite excited about it. Will share the link when its done. Great job my friend!

    Reply
    • Thanks Mel! I do understand people being stuck in a job because of debt…but you can start taking steps for the future to get out of that job….too many people feel resigned to their fate, and I don’t believe that is healthy at all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

