RSS Feed

How To Live To Be 100

Posted on

loving life on a hikeI was scanning the news this morning as I always do….of course there is another school shooting in California….and the House and Senate are pissed at each other once again…in other words, it’s just another normal day in the United States.

Then I saw an article about people who live to be 100 or more, and what they have in common.

Well, over 65% of people over 100 are women.  No surprise there as we have known for quite some time that women on average live longer than men.

We find out that most live in cities; it seems that cities offer more mental stimulation for the aged.

We find out that an overwhelming number are white.  Again, in the United States this is no surprise.

Finally, we find out that the majority live with other family members.

It is the last of these that I found interesting.

I don’t know the statistics, but I would guess that the United States leads the world in the number of nursing homes.  Where many other countries have large extended families that live together, and where the elderly are revered, it is not so in the United States.  Here it seems, and again I have no proof of this, but it seems that more and more of the elderly are rushed off to a nursing home as soon as they can’t take care of themselves.  What’s the reason for that? I have no idea!  Are Americans too busy to be bothered with their old grandma and grandpa?  Are they so busy working two jobs to pay off the credit debt that they don’t have time for loved ones?

Anyway, I found it interesting that living with family helps you to live longer.  Seems the power of love is quite a significant power after all. J

Living Simple….one of the major tenants is the love of family, and making family the first priority.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

10 responses »

  1. My mother-in-law lives with us, and she’s far from invalid, but inevitably…that day will come. But what I never really thought much about – til now – is the reality that my dad and mom will some day require assistance too. What will they do then? I’m an only child, so he has no other kids to fall back on.

    Hm.

    Thanks for making me think about this.

    Reply
  2. My great-grandfather actually lived to be 103 years old. At his 100th birthday party, he gave a speech and was asked how he made it this far. He said two things. The first was that, he had one glass of red wine with dinner (yes he immigrated from Northern Italy in the early 1900s). And the second was that when death came knocking, he wasn’t home (he walked all the time around the neighborhood). Sorry, I thought I would leave a bit of humor here today, because after yet another shooting, as well as my mother-in-law’s school where she works being all over the news, because a student threatened the principal’s life (yes this is what it is coming to), I thought we could all use the humor of what a wise old man once had to say.

    Reply
    • Janine, thank you for that! I love your great-grandfather’s words….he just wasn’t home. LOL….yep, it appears this is what we have come to…threats, shootings…madness.

      Reply
  3. My parents had these exact sentiments so they started an assisted living center at our house. This allowed mom to be able to take care of her dad, my grandpa until he passed away.nthis is also why I say I grew up in a nursing home. Lol

    Reply
  4. I’m all over the extended-family thing.

    I come from a HUGE family, on both sides, and the best years of my growing up time, were when my dad was finally stateside for good, and we settled in the Wabash Valley, Southern Indiana, on my mother’s family’s farm.

    It wasn’t a huge farm, but big enough, and when I was little, we had five generations living under one roof.

    It sounds crowded, but it was WONDERFUL!! From my great-great-grandmother, on down the line, there were three small kids in the house, and always, ALWAYS a lap to sit on, someone to tell a story, someone to ride us in the wheel barrow while the grown ups gardened and tended the animals.

    For folks who tease other folks about 20 and 30-something year olds who live in a multi-generational family setting, if every one gets along, respects and loves one another, you’re making memories of a lifetime.

    It’s less likely that those who can’t take care of themselves end up in nursing homes, when they come from multi-generational homes.

    We look after each other, and we count it a privilege to do so, unless circumstances somehow prevent it.

    Sharing the load helps, both physically and spiritually.

    femme

    Reply
    • Femme, I love it. Love the description of growing up in that farmhouse. What great memories. That sort of thing is dying away in this country and I find that sad

      Reply
  5. You made an excellent comment here Bill – “Are they so busy working two jobs to pay off the credit debt that they don’t have time for loved ones?” – I couldn’t agree with it more. What’s wrong with people working themselves to the bone and not spending time with family? I’m not just talking about the elderly, but their own families as well. And often it’s not because they have to, it’s because they’re more concerned with climbing the corporate ladder than watching their little ones grow up, or spending time with the older ones. I don’t get it. Great post….I hope to be able to live that long, and be in excellent health…it’s a goal to work toward, LOL!

    Reply
    • It is a goal to work toward…..I’m as happy as I’ve ever been in my life, Mel, and it’s because I gave up the rat race and started to embrace life. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

