RSS Feed

Living Simple Is About Getting Back to Basics

Posted on

summer of 2010 001A dear friend of mine, Janine, has told me before that I have this knack for pointing out the obvious, the simple facts that everyone should know but many seem to forget.  By the way, you can find Janine on HubPages here.

The simple facts are, indeed, quite simple.  Life should be about priorities, and the first priority should always be yourself followed closely by family.

I know a lot of people who think family should come first, but to my way of thinking, if you don’t take care of yourself first, you will be of no use to your family.

We have an obligation to provide of us.  That is not ego; it is just common sense.  Make sure that you are healthy.  Make sure that you are happy and content.  Only after you do this, after you provide for your basic needs, will you be able to give of yourself to your family in a healthy manner.

The Simple Life really is quite simple, but it is so easy to forget these basic concepts.  We get so busy; we get so torn in so many different directions.  There is great serenity in Living Simple, and there is great clarity in it as well.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

6 responses »

  1. Wise words, my friend. What a great shout-out to Janine! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh thank you so very much for the shout-out Bill and I can’t help it when I do say this, but you do have a way of always pointing that obvious out that others don’t necessarily even think about. And yes so true that we need to take care of ourselves in order to be physically and mentally fit for our families. Great job as always 🙂

    Reply
  3. Amazing how most people don’t think like this, even though it’s so obvious. I believe a happy home starts with people looking after themselves first. That’s why I’ll probably be a selfish mother one day and have my “me time” whenever I can, because how else can I love and look after anyone else when I feel like crap? I don’t get it. Maybe I will, but for now – I’m sticking to your theory. Great post my friend…VERY important message here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

