RSS Feed

The Ultimate In Living Simple

Posted on

wash d.c.Did any of you see the article on Yahoo about this Mexican couple who have lived under a rock for thirty years?  I’m serious….check it out here!

There is this 130 foot boulder, and like fifty years ago this guy saw it and fell in love with it, so he eventually bought the land and made a home with adobe walls underneath this boulder.

Okay, a bit extreme for all of us, but what a great metaphor for Living Simple!  

Here is this guy, his wife, and the land around him.  That’s all they need.  They have food, they have shelter, and they have love.  Pretty simple, right?  I wonder what they think of computers and cell phones.  I wonder what they think of televisions and designer clothes?  I wonder what they think of going into debt for things that are not needed?

No, there is no way in hell I could live like they do; my first problem would be the rattlesnakes and scorpions that must visit them daily.  However, I certainly understand the thinking behind it, and in three years Bev and I will pull the plug on this lifestyle and simplify big time.

Three years!  Give me an internet provider and I can write anywhere.

Life is good!  Sending hugs and love to all my friends.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. Wow, that is definitely bringing this to a whole new level. I am with you though and as long as I have the internet I am fine, lol 🙂

    Reply
  2. It’s interesting what floats different peoples’ boats. I’m definitely living my dream, but in a different way. 🙂

    Reply
    • Cyndi, I have always loved that saying “whatever floats your boat.” LOL Different way for sure, and you are happy doing it. How cool is that?

      Thank you my friend; have a great weekend.

      Reply
  3. Bill, we went away for the weekend. We had no reception for cellphones and no Internet access. I haven’t been that relaxed in almost a year. It’s crazy what technology does. It’s great on one hand, but on the other – it feels like it’s taking over my life a little. I’m going to be making some decisions this year about the direction I want to go in writing. I don’t think I could ever live under a rock like those guys…but wow! Imagine how at peace with nature they must be. Great post! 🙂

    Reply
    • Mel, I’m glad you got away. I need a vacation badly. I’m writing too much, and spending too much time pursuing some dream that may never come true. I really do have to evaluate what I am doing and make some smart decisions.

      Reply
  4. Let it out, Bill. Let it ALL out.

    Despair sucks, but on the bright side…at least it leads to anger. And anger can be powerful! Double edged — certainly — but powerful.

    Go ahead and feel down. You NEED to feel down, or else you’ll just make yourself more frustrated trying to hold it all in and put on a good show for your fans and friends and family…and all the folks — real or imagined — that are watching from the sidelines and waiting to shout, “I told you so.”

    Go ahead and feel it…nobody who matters will think less of you.

    Especially not me. I haven’t achieved anything yet, but I still believe in myself. And I definitely still believe in Bill Holland.

    When it’s time to launch forward again, do it. You already know the answers, my friend. You have all the best advice already tucked away in your brain. You may just need to find it again.

    “If at first you don’t succeed…”

    “If you keep doing what you’ve always done…”

    “There’s more than one way to skin a…”

    Well…you know the cliches. They’ve been around forever, and they’ve been around forever FOR A REASON What do you do when things aren’t working out? How do you change the results you’re getting from the work you’re doing? What would Thomas Edison do? LOL

    There are countless ways a writer can make a living on planet Earth. You and I have explored, what? 5 or 6 of them? 10 or 12? The money is there, but we must keep digging.

    I’m no expert or success story myself, but I am learning from some folks who are.

    One of my online friend/mentors gave me a piece of advice recently. He encouraged me to take a close look at what I’ve done so far and look for signs of life. When you see something getting a trickle of results — even just a dollar or a quarter a day — then focus in on those potential earners and scale them up.

    Are certain posts and hubs doing WAY better than others? Analyze those winners, discern why they are winners, and then scale it up. Create more winners just like them. Pour more marketing attention into those winners. Just scale it up. Don’t pour love on the losers; pour it on the winners.

    By the way, he built a website from scratch in his free time, sold it after 4 years for $200,000, invested it offline to earn passive income, quit his day job, and now spends 10-15 hours per week freelancing from home

    And at this very moment he is on vacation BWA-hahahaha! Sorry, couldn’t help it. It’s true, though. And by the way…he struggles with self-doubts every damn day. So we’re not alone.

    You want a vacation, Bill? Take today off…and tomorrow too. Take Bev out for a drive and a picnic (or even a picnic on the living room floor, if she’s still feeling under the weather) and do something fun. You’re not going to lose any money doing that. Your Internet empire won’t go up in flames if you step away to catch your breath.

    We love ya, Bill. Aloha

    Reply
    • Chris, I’ll give you credit where credit is due…you made me laugh when I didn’t think it was possible. My writing empire? LOL No, I don’t think it will falter if I take a day off. God that was funny!

      I know there are ways to make money. What I suffer from is the frustration of not being able to figure it out. I am constantly asking myself “what am I doing wrong?” Perhaps I should start with what am I doing right, and build from there. In fact, that is exactly what you suggested. Which hubs are doing well and why are they? Build on them and keep building.

      I thank you my friend. You managed to bring some clarity to the conversation and it was very helpful.

      Aloha to you. I’ll let you know when I see the light at the end of the tunnel. 🙂

      bill

      Reply

Leave a Reply

