RSS Feed

I Am Living Simple and Tired Today

Posted on

wash d.c.I am tired today, and it has nothing to do with lack of sleep.

I’m experiencing the tired that one gets when one works for themselves.

I like Facebook.  I like learning about other people and seeing them spout random nonsense, words of wisdom, and just plain silliness.  However, lately I have had to read about the vacations of quite a few people, and that has made me tired.

I haven’t had a vacation in over three years, and there is a very real chance we won’t go on one this year either.  The fact is that I am a struggling writer, and that is not conducive with going on vacation.  I am constantly trying to make enough money to pay the bills we do have, and save enough in case an emergency comes along.

Yes, Living Simple is all about priorities like family and friends, food and shelter, but there is another side to that reality, and that is the lack of money.  What if we get sick and have to go to the hospital.  Bev was quite sick last week, and I was close to taking her to the hospital, and then we would have been looking at thousands of dollars in expenses that we have no money for.

A vacation?  Seriously!  We have enough money for shelter and food and that’s it.  How do we go on a vacation?

So today I am tired.  I am very happy that my friends are able to go on vacation, but I am tired of hearing about it.  I am tired of hearing about the success some have experienced with their writing, while I’m still knocking my head against the wall trying to figure out the secret.

Yes, I am tired.

And yes, I am Living Simple! J

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

14 responses »

  1. Bill, you aren’t alone. I would love to take my kids on vacation and probably won’t be able to do much this summer either. We are saving for a house and having only one real salary coming in hurts at times. We were offered to buy a friend of the family’s house last week, but the price tag was way out of our budget. So trust me we have our moments and I know Kevin supports me, but he is frustrated at times. Just know you aren’t alone and we too have our moments about money or the lack thereof.

    Reply
    • Janine, I have the feelings there are millions like us. Sigh! It seems endless, doesn’t it?

      Thank you as always; some day we will have to meet as friends. I would really like that.

      Reply
  2. I hear you, Bill. I want that success, too. I don’t go on vacation–never have much, really. Hang in there. As Janine says, you are not alone.

    Reply
  3. Bill, you have expressed what I feel a lot of times. I would love to go to the mountains and stay in a cabin, and I cannot even do that. It is so terrible that for somebody to have a peaceful time at a nice place is so expensive. The best thing to do is to have a group of people who would like to go on vacation and all go together so we could split the cost, hehe. Anyway, do not let go hope, someday the dream has to come true.

    Reply
  4. I really can’t remember the last time I went on a real vacation. I am so with you — and as someone struggling with a part-time job who hasn’t yet managed to earn anything from her writing, I can definitely appreciate your struggles to meet ends meet financially.

    Even when I was working full-time, I never did get to go on an actual vacation. I qualified to take vacation days, but ended up using them to attend funerals.

    Reply
    • Leanna, thank you! I am always so impressed by the kindness of relative strangers. I’m a pretty upbeat person but I have days when it all seems to pointless. I’ll snap out of it; who knows what tomorrow will bring, right?

      Reply
  5. Bill, my friend…you’re not alone. We’re renting, and because I decided to be a writer, we’ll never be able to own a house…that I’m pretty sure about. You’d laugh if you had to hear what I’m earning right now. HubPages is it. I also wish I knew the secret. Sometimes I put on a positive face, because I chose this dream, but some days I just want to cry out of pure frustration. The holiday we went on this weekend was all paid for by our friend. We were lucky – otherwise we probably wouldn’t have gone. Everything included. I look at some of my friends and people on Facebook and Twitter who live in SA and travel to New York, Thailand, and Europe for the holidays, and think – what are we doing wrong? Hang in there Bill….we all have those days, and for you especially I’m sure. You don’t know what’s around the corner, and you’re not doing everything you’re doing in vain – I promise you. Hang in there….you know things usually get a lot worse before they get better. Hugs from across the ocean!

    Reply
    • Mel, you are a sweetheart, and I thank you. I know this is a passing phase. I just need to feel like I’m on the right path and that there is some money somewhere down that path….I know for a fact I will never get rich because of HP. LOL Thank you again!

      Reply
  6. Ahhh! My dear friend…you speak for many of us in this piece of writing. I’d be happy with money for food and rent right now. lol! I do believe the wheels turn though and things always get better 🙂 (At least I really hope so!).

    Btw. I’m still holding thumbs for that lottery win… and you know you’ll be cleaning that spare bedroom if I do!! 🙂

    Hugs to you my friend and keep hanging in there… the world needs you and your writing; you are an inspiration to us all!

    Reply
    • Trinity, what a lovely surprise. Thank you…seriously..thank you! It’s just one of those days when it all seems so senseless. This too shall pass, as it always does.

      You are appreciated!

      love,
      bill

      Reply
  7. Well, I’ll join in the club here. We’ve reduced our expenses, no health insurance, and it’s a scary road. It’s not an easy road. And I’ll agree: FB pisses me off. I use it to find other writers’ articles…and I post to my page. In that sense, I’m on it more than I want to be. It gets tiring.
    Yeah, lack of money drove me to get a part-time job. My hubby will have to get part-time work.
    It’s not easy.
    But I am so thankful. Thankful for my health. Thankful for another day to create. Thankful for the little things.
    Yeah, there are huge moments of frustration. Moments that I don’t know how I can go on. But I keep meditating and repeating mantras and surrounding myself with positive people and listening to my instincts.
    You’ll get there. Sometimes a change in plan is good. As I said when I answered your comment earlier: your posts at HP are epic. I personally think they’re FANTASTIC blog posts. HP is all about google-friendly article writing. And, for a time, it was great for me to indulge in that. But I’ve ALWAYS wanted to be an artist. It’s what makes my blood flow. I started writing online as a way to make money, but it was only a matter of time before my creative self started screaming for a release. And it’s happened.
    Wherever you go and whatever you do, I’m sure you’ll be a success. The hard part is envisioning yourself as a success in that “already” sense. 🙂

    Reply
    • Well lil’ Sis, listen to you and all that wisdom. I know you are correct. I am so alive when I am writing what I want to write, but then I start thinking “what in the world am I doing?” I’m just sitting here writing to 200 people and barely making any difference at all. Where is the sense in that? And then I read a lovely comment from someone who was moved to tears by my words and the sense comes screaming at me.

      I love what I’m doing. I just have to find a way to make it pay.

      Thank you Cyndi! It will all work out, and usually does when I get out of the way. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

