RSS Feed

Comparing Deron Williams’ Life With My Simple Life

Posted on

Garden Oct 3, 2012 004I just finished a blog about Deron Williams, the guard for the Brooklyn Nets.  He recently purchased a 6,800 square foot penthouse in New York for $15.8 million.

The place also has a 3,000 square foot Japanese garden, six bedrooms, four baths, and hot and cold running girls in each room.  LOL

Seriously?  Where do I begin?deron

Well, this is a Living Simple blog, so I guess we’ll start there.  Could someone tell me why you would need 6,800 square feet of living space?  My living space would fit in one of his bedrooms, and I’m being dead serious when I write that.

Oh hell, I don’t even want to rant and rave over this.  I’m not going to change a damn thing by doing that.  All I can do is live my life and quit trying to change this insanity.  The rich have flaunted their riches for as long as I’ve been alive.  Let’s face it, there are people out there who do not understand restraint or social conscience.  Those are terms that are foreign to them and always will be.

All I can do is take care of my own little world.  In that world Bev has gone off to work; she should be home by about three. I’ll write until then and then go in and kiss her hello.  Then we’ll go for a walk while it is still light out, and then we will have a nice dinner together.  Her daughter will join us, and we will talk about her day at school while we eat.

After dinner Bev will catch up on her paperwork and emails and I’ll catch up on some reading.  Then we’ll most likely play a game of Cribbage and call it a night.

Nothing flashy at all, but during that day we will have worked, laughed, shared, and loved.  We will have lived within our means and we will have been responsible citizens and neighbors.

It doesn’t get any simpler than that my friends.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. That amount of space is insane and wouldn’t even know where to begin, as well. That said you life sounds perfect just the way it is and have a wonderful day as always!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I have always thought that even if I has a million dollars that I wouldn’t change much in my life. Maybe a new pair of shoes and a newer car. I think that’s about it. Haha. Once we have shelter and food and basic necessities, we humans don’t need more. After that I think its almost sinful to have so much money and you just get stuff for yourself and don’t help to better the planet and humanity.

    Reply
    • Cyndi, I don’t know what I would buy with a million dollars, but I know most of it would go towards trying to make this world a better place. The interest alone would take care of me and my family….I would never need the principle. LOL

      Reply
  3. Bill,

    In my eyes, it doesn’t matter if the guy wants to live in a 6K sq. ft. house, or a 25k sq. ft. house. If he can afford it, by all means, he should be able to run with it.

    It boils down to having the freedom to choose what we will do with what we have.

    I love having the liberty to do that, and it’s true, I wish I had more to exercise my liberty with.

    I’d pick something besides 7K sq. ft. of living quarters, at least I probably would. But, on the other hand, I would love having lots of room for guests. :).

    femme

    Reply
    • femme, I agree it doesn’t matter how this guy wants to live. I have friends who live like this, and they are my friends. However, they also understand the greater picture of life, that part of life having to do with community and humility, love and compassion. I hope that this guy learns those lessons or it’s going to be quite lonely in that large penthouse. 🙂

      Reply
  4. I couldn’t imagine living in a house that big! Arrrrg, it irritates me the way some people live while millions around the world suffer. Like our president and his 5 or so wives and their families who live in mansions while the rest of SA suffers. But that’s another story altogether. No thanks, I’m quite happy in our little cosy duplex. Sounds like your days are perfect. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

