RSS Feed

Valentine’s Day Gestures When You Have No Money

Train ride from Elbe to 018So, what does one do for Valentine’s Day when one is Living Simple and has no money?  Well my friends, you have to be creative.

Bev and I are broke.  Sure, we could be depressed over it, but that’s just not in our DNA.  Instead, we find ways to make each other happy today that cost nothing.  After all, is the point of Valentine’s Day to impress your lover with expenditures or to relate your love to them?

I gave Bev a key this morning and told her it was the key to my heart.  She cried!  She left notes all throughout the house that I am still finding, telling me how much she loves me.  I will be hanging paper hearts from the ceiling for her to find when she comes home today from work.  She made me breakfast this morning and I will make her dinner tonight.

None of it is extravagant and all of it speaks loudly that we are two people who cherish each other.

Living Simple is not about money.  Living Simple is about getting back to basics, and nothing is more basic than love!

Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

10 responses »

  1. This is quite simply the most beautiful thing I have read so far today. You too really are made for each other. Happy Valentine’s Day!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Kathryn Stratford

    That is so sweet. I don’t think Valentines Day should be about buying expensive things, anyway. I mean, if you have money to play around with, it’s fine. But it is a very commercialized holiday, as is every big holiday one. The day should just be about showing your loved one/s that you love them. It sounds like you two do that well!
    Happy Valentines to you, too!

    Reply
  3. This is so sweet. Believe it or not, John and I are doing something similar. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Hey Cyndi, I easily believe it. I just got done hanging handmade hearts from the ceiling all around the house. She’s going to love it.

    Reply
  5. My heart melted reading what you both did for Valentine’s Day. Sounds like you both are perfect for each other, and have a beautiful relationship to weather the storms, and to celebrate the sunny times. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Your Valentine’s sounded just marvelous Bill. Love is all that matters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

