RSS Feed

Food Fight In Minnesota Gets Dangerous

wash d.c.High school brawl in Minnesota.  Hundreds injured when a food fight gets out of hand.

I’m still shaking my head at this story.  Now I come from a time when there was an occasional food fight.  Someone would fling mashed potatoes across the cafeteria, then rolls would come flying, and it went on for a few minutes until the cafeteria monitor put an end to it.

In this food fight in Minnesota, kids picked up plates and glasses and hurled them, and chairs were also thrown, and blood was flowing and eventually police had to break it up with mace.

What the hell is happening to our society?  Do you see the difference?  Forty or fifty years ago it would have never dawned on a high school kid to hurl a plate, and if they actually hit someone and blood flowed, the “food fight” would have stopped immediately and people would have been ashamed.  The food fights of old were just blowing off steam events meant to have fun.cropped-HOW-Header-846

Hundreds injured?

I am so tired of these events happening each week.  When will it change? Is it any wonder that my dream is to move out in the country, drop off the grid, and have very little to do with civilization?  It’s craziness out there and it is out of control and I want nothing to do with it any longer.

And yet I write about social change, and how we are each responsible for doing our part to end this craziness.

So what do I do?

I’ll be pondering that question all weekend. J

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. Kathryn Stratford

    Wow. What used to be fun is now crazy. Maybe they should have a lecture on how to have a real food fight, without violence. It’s ridiculous that blood would be shed in such an event.

    Reply
    • Kathryn, there seems to be a great amount of anger in the world, and it has leaked down into the schools. Sad for sure. Hey, did you get the book in the mail? I hope it gets there soon for you.

      Reply
  2. I honestly wish I knew what could be done. This makes me just truly sad and angry, too. I worry about my kids growing up in our current society. Sometimes I just refuse to turn on the news not to hear another one of these stories. I am know that really isn’t a solution, but still just upsets me too much sometimes.

    Reply
    • Janine, I have no idea where we are headed, but this is craziness. I don’t blame you for worrying about your kids growing up. I’d be worried too. 🙂 Thank you my friend and have a great weekend.

      Reply
  3. Bill when I read about these things then my growing up sounds like paradise. Such a paradise that one day I will have to write all about it. I can’t imagine how parents are raising their kids nowadays. Is it all their fault or the fault of society or has something gone terribly wrong with kid in general??? I just know there has to be an answer somewhere and perhaps the Lord will provide one. Kids are our future so what does that say about where we are heading? The kids from grade school into teens here on our side of the world really scare me and I’m glad I don’t have anything to do with them. So sad.

    Reply
    • Rasma, I have written about my childhood and like yours, I must have lived in Shangrila. I don’t understand this kind of malicious and destructive activity. I know it happens daily but I will never understand it.

      Thank you for visiting my little blog.

      Reply
  4. Shew, Bill, I felt sick reading this. It just demonstrates how much resentment, hate, and understanding there still is today. I’m shocked – I just read it to my husband. We never had stuff like this at school – not even civilized food fights. I don’t know what to say, I’m too shocked. I mean, doesn’t behaviour start at home? Are parents just too busy in their own lives that they don’t care? I remember a few friends when I was around 14. They would never get home made lunch. They’d just get given money to buy food. Like it was too much effort to make them a sandwich. They’d also be allowed to have parties at home and the parents would pore vodka with sprite and coke. It’s like they were trying to be ‘cool’ for their kids or something. It’s so messed up. I don’t get it. Very sad…

    Reply
    • Thank you Mel! I read it, and then I had to go back and read it again, because honestly I couldn’t believe it. I thought it was a joke at first; when I realize there was honestly a riot over a food fight I just shook my head and tried to fight off depression. Just when I start having hope for this world some story like this one pops up and squashes all hope that I had stored up that day. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

