RSS Feed

Finding Happiness and the Simple Pleasures

My goodness, where did the weekend go to?

I am fairly proud of myself. I did not writing this weekend.  I don’t even have a new hub to post on HubPages, and it’s been quite some time since I said that.  Why? I just didn’t feel like it.  I wanted a break from creating sentences and I want to just enjoy a simple weekend with Bev.

Random drive on April 14, 2012 005Our vegetable garden is already for planting.  We spent some time out there turning over dirt on a sunny Sunday.  We went for walks and we did some early spring cleaning.  We ran errands and we laughed, and we told each other that we loved each other quite often.Downtown and the garden April 21, 2012 052

During the weekend Mindy McCready killed herself, and during the weekend a former student of mine had a new, healthy baby.  And so it goes, eh?  Life ends and life begins.  So it always has been and so it always shall be.  Some will live happy and contented lives and some will be miserable and never find happiness no matter how hard they try.

I know which one I choose.  I choose to be happy today. I choose to love today.

Livin’ large and lovin’ the simple life in Olympia, Washington.  Have a great day unless you made other plans.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

12 responses »

  1. I choose just like you to be happy and that is what I too did this past weekend. I realized somewhere along the lines that my weekends have become chaotic because I have let them become that. I pulled away as much as I could and gave Kevin and the girls my full attention. Felt good and think I need to do this more often!! Happy you and Bev had a wonderful weekend, too!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Janine I just noticed your comment as i was about to log out and yes what you both say is true ;we should be able to switch off and the mind benefits from a break also. The problem with me is that Dai is only home on a Sunday so I tend to just take most of that.I think from now on I shall take all of Sunday off!!! Its a start anyway !! Enjoy the rest of your day too Janine.
      Eddy.

      Reply
    • Good for you Janine! I had gotten fanatic about writing and I had forgotten how to enjoy life. I won’t be making that mistake again. The world will get along just fine without me writing on weekend. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Hi Billy how nice to be able to say how proud you are of yourself for not writing a single word ;oh yes.Last week I was nearly in the same mindset;I spent time elsewhere and was behind with my blog and all else ;and did I care ???Well only a teeny weeny bit ;so I wasn’t far behind you and as for catching up ??It was no problem; all done in a flash on Saturday.Yesterday we caught up with sorting our haven;our patio; out ;Dai even got his onions in!!!
    As for today it has been a beautiful sunny day and back to work as last week was half term holiday .Now I am back home ;have brought the washing in,hung more out,supper is on ready for Dai to come home from work. Potatoes,faggots,peas and gravy tonight; and of course I am writing this comment for you.
    Enjoy the rest of your day .
    Eddy.

    Reply
    • Eddy, our garden is ready for planting, but we have some frosts still on the horizon. Sometime next month we’ll get to planting, although we really should get some onions in the ground now. 🙂 Have a great week my friend.

      Reply
  3. Who is Mindy McCready or whatever her name is? LOL…I don’t watch much TV – that is once recipe I have for simplicity: TV tries to sell a “keeping up with the Joneses” lifestyle to you and so now, save for a bit of news here and there, we keep most our viewing confined to Netflix. Even then, I never have any idea about who the actors are, LOL. That said, I hope you have a wonderful Monday. 🙂

    Reply
    • Cyndi, she was a troubled country and western singer who could not break away from booze and drugs. As for tv….I just don’t watch it. The internet is my source of news and I catch these stories in passing. You have a great Monday too.

      Reply
  4. That’s weird, I could have sworn I just posted a comment here…oh well, let’s try again! Sounds like you had the perfect weekend. We all need time to rest and recharge the batteries, even if we are working and doing what we love. It’s strange you write about looking at life after a celebrity in your part of the world died, because I did the same thing for tomorrow’s post! Reeva Steenkamp was killed last week and it’s hitting hard today. She was such an inspiration. Makes you appreciate life even more. Hope you’re having a lovely, relaxing day! 🙂

    Reply
    • Mel, I’m in the middle of writing a hub about death. If we are not appreciating life then we are really wasting our time on earth, don’t you think? Of course you do!

      Thank you my friend!

      Reply
  5. You deserved the weekend off, Bill! I’m glad you did it.
    Nice garden! If I have a place with a yard someday, I want to grow a garden.
    Have a good week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

