RSS Feed

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

Posted on

roryToday we turn to the world of golf for our Living Simple message, and in particular to Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, the world’s number one golfer.

As you may have read, last weekend McIlroy stunned the golf world by walking off the course during a tournament after shooting seven over par on the first eight holes.  Now, to get things in perspective, professional golfers do not walk away from competition simply because things are not going well.  That is a serious no-no as McIlroy found out after leaving the tournament.

News agencies and sports writers lambasted this likeable kid for not being mature enough to stick it out when the going got tough.  McIlroy told the world that he was having pain from a wisdom tooth and his head just wasn’t in the game because of the pain he was experiencing.

Chances are, and McIlroy has admitted to this, the pressures of being #1 in the world were getting to McIlroy and that had as much to do with him quitting as any tooth pain.

Anyway, he came out today with a statement, and towards the end of his press conference he said that he had a lot going on in his head, and that he had forgotten that golf was just a game and he should be enjoying it since it is a game he has always loved.

True words, Rory!

My day is going to be as good as I allow it to be.  I can choose to be happy or I can choose to be sad or angry.  I can choose to be beaten down by circumstances or I can choose to rise to the challenge.

I had a mentor once who told me not to sweat the small stuff in life and it is all small stuff!

True words!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. So true Bill and it has been such a busy day today around here, but you are right about choosing to be happy and enjoy oneself. Said perfectly!!

    Reply
  2. The small stuff…yeah…I’ve been doing some re-thinking. The small stuff sort of grew into big stuff and I want it to be small stuff that I don’t sweat. This means my whole idea of blogging is going to change and I miss Hubpages. LOL

    Reply
  3. Couldn’t agree with you more, Bill! Earlier this year I was getting so stressed from writing (something I love and chose to do) because I was trying to do too much. I forgot about my love for writing. I had to take a step back – I’m still taking steps back and taking things off my list of things I want to do, so that I can give 100% to my work and still love it. That’s the point. To love what you do. Great post this morning!

    Reply
    • Mel, I have done the same thing. I no longer write on weekends and it has made me fresher and allowed me to regain my love of writing. Funny how so many things that I think are huge problems turn out to be manageable if I just step back and be reasonable.

      Reply
  4. Audra Leigh Fisher

    It is hard not to sweat the small stuff some days. That is part of the reason I am doing my numbers project. It helps me through some of the stress and rumination I deal with when I am stressed. I am glad you have taken a few steps back and focused on what you love! I am going to share this with my Dad, lover of golf and most likely the message. A great read tonight 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh Audra, I would never say this is easy. However, for me it was necessary if I was going to stop drinking and start living life. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my friend and say hi to dad for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

