RSS Feed

Enjoying The Perks of a Simple Life

Posted on

loving life on a hikeMy God I live a Simple Life!  That realization hit me right between the eyes today.

I’m sitting here in my writing studio and listening to the birds.  The rain has stopped and I’m thinking of going for a walk before lunch.  Bev came home and I’m going to go in and visit with her before she leaves for her next store.

In other words, I have the freedom to enjoy nature, exercise and visit with loved ones during my work day….during my work day!

Gone are the days when I worked for someone else.  Gone are the grumpy bosses and the impossible demands.  Gone is the feeling of going nowhere in life and being burdened with lofty expectations and unrealistic goals.

I am back to basics and I have never been happier.

A friend of mine and fellow writer, Melanie, wrote about going for a walk on the beach the other day and having a WOW moment where she realized that she has great things ahead of her and huge creative projects that she wants to try.  That’s how I feel today and most days.

I am relatively unknown and yet I am convinced that I will eventually find an outlet for my writing that will please me and lead to bigger things, whatever they may be. I am convinced that my words will help people and I will make a positive mark on the lives of others.

I love writing.  I love the Simple Life.  I love everything about the life I have created. I worked hard to be here, right now, celebrating all that is good about life.  I deserve this moment….and so do you!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

10 responses »

  1. Beautiful and I agree we are so worthy of this!! I love being able to write and be home right now. Don’t know if I can do this forever, but am enjoying while I can now!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Janine, there is no reason why you can’t do it as long as you want to….you are building your blog and making a name for yourself, and you are determined to make it work…my money is on you succeeding.

      Reply
  2. “Gone are the days of working for someone else,” YES!! Yeah, I work part time to make ends meet, but even then I found a teaching job that gives me a lot of freedom. I don’t have to be on campus except for the times that I teach. That’s it.
    But I’m damaged goods. I’m carving out a life and niche for myself. I don’t have as much money or security as I once did. But, after experiencing this freedom and the ability to shape my days as I see fit, I feel like I’m soaring to new heights.
    So yes, I understand. I hope you’re having a great Wednesday! 🙂

    Reply
    • Cyndi, I hope you see this comment because I want you to know….that I respect you so much. You faced your fears and your doubts and you followed your dream. You gave up financial security and benefits and you said “to hell with it” and you went out and carved a niche for yourself. You will be successful and infinitely happier because of your decision. I really am proud of you.

      Reply
  3. Oh…I didn’t finish my “damaged goods” thought: I will never be able to work for anyone else again BECAUSE of the freedom and awesomeness I am living now. 🙂 But…wait…is Bev working out of the home at more than one job?

    Reply
    • Hey lil’ Sis! Bev has a merchandising job where she goes from store to store and arranges product on the shelves. It’s a part time job, about 20-30 hours per week.

      Reply
  4. Reading this made me smile this morning. You are so positive and so determined, you WILL get what you deserve, and people WILL (already are btw) know you, because you believe in what you do, and because your messages are words of truth and come from a good place. Thanks for the shout out my friend. 🙂 You already know that some of my inspiration comes from reading your work. Aren’t we lucky to be able to do all those things inside of our work day? I don’t often think about it like that. Today didn’t start off great – but after reading your post, I’m feeling ready to tackle this day! 🙂

    Reply
    • Mel, I have always believed that things work out for a reason. I have no other explanation than that, and it’s just a feeling. All that we have done in our lives led us to this moment of happiness where we are working for ourselves, we are loved and we are happy. It just doesn’t get any better than that. 🙂 Thank you, Mel!

      Reply
  5. I also forgot to mention about working for someone else. I don’t think I’d be able to do that again either. I have too many thoughts and opinions on how to do things now, it just wouldn’t work!! I worked in many admin jobs over an 11 year period for the money. Sure, I learnt a few skills – those days in recruitment and HR were vital. But otherwise, nothing really stands out. I had A LOT of awful bosses. They treated staff like crap because they knew how desperate they were for jobs. They didn’t inspire or motivate. They just yelled and screamed when the crap hit the fan – no doubt when your staff are terrified and demotivated. I’m so glad I left those toxic environments. The pay was incredible and we could have saved up to go overseas. Somedays I feel depressed because of that. Because of me we can’t do that. But most days I know it was the right decision. I’m happy, my family is happy, and life is good. What more could I ask for? 🙂

    Reply
    • Mel, I had some great years as a teacher, but none of them match the feeling I have writing and working for myself. My direction and destiny are in my hands and I like that feeling. Life is good my friend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

