RSS Feed

Happy Easter From Living Simple

Posted on

earthbagHave you ever heard of earthbag building?  You can read an article about it here.

Basically it is a matter of filling bags with dirt and constructing a structure with them.  They are incredible inexpensive and practically maintenance-free, and I happen to think they are really cool.

Off on another tangent….this is Odds and Ends Friday for lack of a better name….Easter is coming and I hope you all have a wonderful holiday.  What will you be doing on Easter?  Spending time with family? Going to church?  Going out for dinner or a movie?  Whatever you do, stay safe and enjoy the hell out of life.

This picture is of a 200 year old barn about ten miles from here.  200 years old and it was constructed without using a single nail.  Can you imagine?  200 years…a simpler time for sure, when the main concerns were planting crops and tending to them, and making sure your family was provided for.  Neighboring farmers would come over at harvest time and help each other to make sure the crops were in the barn before the Fall rains.  Then, when the harvest was done, they would all hold a celebration and give thanks for a bountiful crop.039

DSCN0948This picture is over the Yellowstone River as it flows through Hayden Valley in Yellowstone National Park.  The Yellowstone is a natural river meaning it has no dams on it. It flows free from the Park to the Missouri River, and the Hayden Valley is one of my favorite places on Earth.  If you want to see a living, breathing example of serenity, go to the Hayden at sunrise or sunset and just soak up the beauty of Nature.

That’s all I’ve got for you today.  Blessings to you always, and may you all be as happy as I am. J

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

16 responses »

  1. Beautiful Bill and hope, you, Bev and the family have a wonderful Easter!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Larry Kitzmann

    Have a great weekend Bill, somehow I think you have that one covered. We are still waiting for things to warm up a little more here in Michigan. Spring though is on the way so I’ve been told. All my best to you,Bev and the entire family.

    Reply
  3. wow..it is beautiful Bill
    The pix looks serene. I am sure it must be beyond it when present there.

    Wishing you a happy ester 🙂

    Reply
  4. How can any structure built without nails last for 200 years? That’s pretty amazing. Our townhome is barely 11 years old and stuff is already falling apart!

    You guys have a nice, relaxing, simple Easter, Bill.

    Aloha =)

    Reply
  5. Have a wonderful weekend. It’s late over here, I know, but we had an interesting day out at the lake, lol. I decided to “take today off” (mostly…there’s always still work to do, isn’t there…haha) and work on Sunday but..I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply
  6. Have a happy Easter weekend with Bev! Your life always sounds fun to me. Simple fun is usually better on a normal basis than “crazy fun”, which can be hectic and stressful.
    The pictures you have are so beautiful. The river has intrigued me ever since you used it as one of the prompt photos for your writing contest! If I ever go out that way, I want to check it out.

    Reply
    • Kathryn, I think the Hayden Valley is one of the prettiest places on earth…it’s like being in the west 200 years ago, with the deer and elk and bison roaming freely in this beautiful natural setting. You would love it.

      Thank you my dear and have a great weekend.

      Reply
  7. My one plan for Sunday is to get up early for the sunrise service at 6:45 a.m. The service is being held at a lake that is just around the corner from my retirement property. We have a small creek running through our property. But the lake around the corner is magnificent. I really enjoy the photo of that river in the Hayden Valley. it’s so pristine and beautiful. Well, I might make it to the lake for the sunrise service. But, if not, I’ll surely attend the 9:00 a.m. service. To you and Bev, Happy Easter my dear friend.

    Reply
  8. I had no idea you could build something without nails…wow. Lovely pictures and interesting info…thanks Bill! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

