RSS Feed

Memories of a Simpler Time

Posted on

tnI love this picture.  It shows my mom, dad, sister and me as a little tyke, all standing around before a road trip to Iowa to see the extended family you see in the next picture.

I had a great childhood.  I wish others could have experienced what I did.  There was laughter seemingly daily, and a feeling of closeness and safety.  There was the feeling that no matter what happened there was always someone there who had your back.bills%20old%20photo%2012%20001

There was always music in our household.  My mom loved to sing, as did my dad, and there was always someone singing to the tunes on the radio when I was growing up.

Slowly, one by one, my entire family passed away until there is only me now.  It would not take too much effort to be sad over that fact, but I choose to hold on to those wonderful memories of a family that loved each other and enjoyed life.  Make no mistake about it, we had our problems.  What family doesn’t?  Still, those were simpler times when family meant something….a strong bond…togetherness….and always a feeling of love.

I tried to raise my son in that matter.  As a single parent for fourteen years, it was just him and me taking on life and all it threw at us.  We had our problems and we struggled, but we also learned from each other.  I think he grew up knowing he was loved, and I look at him today and know that I did my best to give him the kind of childhood that I had.  I wasn’t perfect but I did my best.DSCN0811

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

14 responses »

  1. Bill, I look at photos from my wedding (less than 10 years ago) and too many people in both our families have passed away, but I too remember my youth and all that are longer with us. Yes, I still have both my parents thankfully, but my grandparents, aunts, uncles and so many more are gone now and truly missed. So, I can relate and your post really hits home. Just so happy to have my memories, which are mostly very good and hold them dear!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Bill, I think the one thing you do well is something I truly value from my parents and the thing I worked hard to develop for my children – memories. But, not just memories – happy memories. Just the other day, my oldest daughter told me that she is now so grateful for all the things we did when she was growing up. When she was a teenager, she would sometimes not want to go on the “family” vacation. I would simply say, ‘It’s for the memory.’ To this day, she remembers those days. Life is all about the memories of times shared, and like you know, that’s what keeps us going strong.

      Reply
      • Marlene, thank you for that recollection and comment. I think building a treasure chest of good memories is so important when raising kids…the day will come when that is all they have left, so they better have some good ones. 🙂

    • Janine, the memories end up being all that we have left, so hopefully they are good ones. 😉 I’m glad yours are, and your little girls are going to have terrific memories when they are adults.

      Reply
  2. Larry Kitzmann

    Yes a time when we were outside all day in the summer be it riding bikes, playing 500 at the school playground or yes cowboys and Indians complete with cap pistols and air rifles. No t.v. till after supper, and for sure no computers. Yes we had our problems and scrapes but it was all in all a very good childhood. I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

    Reply
    • Larry, I wouldn’t either. Playing 500 at the playground…loved those impromptu games. I wonder how many kids even know what that means? 🙂 I am the man I am today because of the childhood I had and the lessons learned.

      Thanks my friend. You are now one day closer to a new life in Iowa. 🙂

      Reply
  3. And if he hasn’t already, one day your son will realize, “he (meaning you) did his best” and then he’ll REALLY appreciate you. 🙂 The day came, when I was in my mid-20s where the frustrations between my parents and I melted away and I just thought, “you know, Cyndi, they just did their best. All of us are only trying to get through this life the best way you know how.” From there, I was able to be closer to them. Though we have our differences and we probably won’t see eye to eye on a good deal of issues, I know that I was loved very much and I love them very much. They’ve always showed their love in various ways and even those things I still don’t understand – well, I just feel love. 😉

    Reply
    • That was beautiful, Cyndi….and I agree totally. My dad and I in particular did not see eye to eye, and we argued, and my mother was a bit strange at times, but in the end they raised me with love and that is so very important…..and it seems to me, young lady, like you just said some very important things regarding your possible parenthood. Raise a child with love and the problems of the world seem insignificant. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Well, no one is perfect, Bill.

    The fact that you did not give up…makes you so proud of what you are today.

    Wishing you the best!

    Reply
  5. It is amazing how a few pictures can say so much. It is great that you hold your family in your heart. It would be easy to sink into desperation, but it is best to remember the good times and enjoy your life as it is, with those that you do still have time left with.

    Reply
    • Thank you Kathryn! Depression is not an option for me. I just try to concentrate on the good memories. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to visit me nightly.

      Reply
  6. Sounds like you have some pretty great memories. 🙂 I too have many fond memories of my childhood. My parents were also not perfect, but they did the best they could. It was so simple back then. I feel sorry for the kids of today. They never got to experience simply childhoods like that before all this technology. I suppose it all has to do with how you’re raised at the end of the day. Happy weekend Bill!

    Reply
    • Mel, I believe that to be true. A simple childhood is possible today but it’s up to the parents to provide it….most choose not to, and then look back and wish they had. 🙂 Have a great weekend and stay away from the computer. LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

