RSS Feed

Community Gardens and Community Spirit

Posted on

community gardens 001I took this picture last year.  It is one of many community gardens that are “sprouting up” in the Olympia area.  This one is on an acre that was donated by a neighborhood church.  Since the time I took that picture the garden has literally doubled in size, and on nice days the entire neighborhood is there working and then sharing in the bounty during harvest season.

There are others in our town as well….here are a couple more, all within walking distance of our house.community gardens 009community gardens 006

Then there is our garden.  We will finally be planting this weekend.  Beans and peas will be climbing that chainlink fence that you see in the picture, and each raised bed will have its own veggie in it.  The large natural bed is just for potatoes, and around the perimeter we will have pumpkins and squash….and the big table you see if a lettuce bench where we will grow our lettuce up away from slugs.

chicken coop March 31 2013 005No, we can’t eat it all….but some of our neighbors will help in the eating.

Simple Living!   I don’t know if I mentioned it, but my original family is from Iowa.  I remember visiting them all and working on the corn farm when I was no more than about seven or eight.  Corn so high I could barely see the sky, and neighbors outside in the evening, sitting on their porches, visiting and sharing and helping one another.

I may not be able to go back in time, but I can certainly be the instrument of change and help bring back some of that neighborly spirit that is missing in this country.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. Oh beautiful Bill and love your garden!! Have a great weekend again my friend!! 🙂

    Reply
  2. You know, I’m looking at your post today, and I’m staring at my weed-grown garden that I haven’t had time to work on and then I’m thinking about ALL my scraped hubs and I’m thinking…I do not want to be on this computer anymore.
    And I’m seriously reconsidering this online gig. I know it’s always a risk of people ripping off content…but making bread and playing in the dirt are calling my name. Right now at least. I think I’ll go outside and play.
    I’ll see ya after awhile.
    PS – you left a wonderful comment yesterday. Been swamped over here.
    Will email if I have questions. 🙂

    Reply
    • That’s what I’m going to do this weekend….me and the dirt and I’ll be better for it. Go out and have fun, Cyndi, and forget about the scraping for awhile. You need a break and you deserve it.

      Reply
  3. I love the idea of community gardens. When I was a teenager, my close friend’s family was part of one, and I remember going with them to help them weed the garden once. It was a fascinating experience!
    I like the pictures of the gardens. Thanks for sharing your simple living story with us! I look forward to hearing about the fruits of your labor in the future.
    Have a wonderful weekend, Bill! I am going to a mandatory meeting at work (half a day, so I get the morning off!), and Andy and I are going back to Connecticut for part of the weekend. His niece has a baby shower on Sunday, and it should be fun!

    Reply
    • Kathryn, this area really is progressive when it comes to community action. These community gardens are all over the city and it is exciting to see neighbors working together.

      Have fun in CT this weekend and thank you as always for stopping by.

      Reply
  4. Lovely gardens! For the first time I am a little envious that you guys are getting Spring now, lol. Just for the fact of growing a beautiful garden like yours. Hope you had a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

