RSS Feed

Julian Lennon, Margaret Thatcher and Chickens

Posted on

chickens 41713 006Randomly floating through the news headlines today.  Julian Lennon, son of John Lennon, turned fifty.  I must say I’m a bit shocked.  If he’s fifty then that makes me…….well, getting older.

And Margaret Thatcher died!  Now I’m not much for politicians.  Anyone who has followed my writing knows that fact.   However, I will make an exception for the Iron Lady.  There was something about her that I admired, and even now I might have a hard time telling you what that was.  Character? Toughness?  Committed to principles?  I don’t know exactly, but I instantly liked her and have ever since.

Two people who have very little to do with Living Simple.  Why am I writing about them? I guess I’m just feeling a bit nostalgic today after seeing their names in the news.  Don’t get me wrong….I love my life!  There can be no doubt, however, that life was simpler several decades ago.  Technology has made things speed up and technology has, in a way, made life more complicated and demanding.

This weekend we bought nine little chicks for our backyard.  No big deal by any means, but holding those little birds reminded me of how precious life is, and how there is wonder in the simplest of things. I do not need the latest gadgets to find inspiration.  I do not need the latest gadget to find amusement, entertainment or thrills.  All I need to do is pay $3 for a little chick and then sit back and watch the wonder of life.

That is called getting great value for your buck!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

13 responses »

  1. I love that you did get those little chicks this past weekend and must say that is just totally awesome. By the way, I did read about Margaret Thatcher, but not Julian Lennon. Cannot believe he is 50 years old and now I too am feeling a bit old today. Thanks for sharing Bill!!

    Reply
  2. I hear ya, Bill.

    There are times when one feels overwhelmed by worldly news….their contribution to the society was commendable.

    Your investment in chickens will be a good return for the money 🙂

    Happpy Monday!

    Reply
  3. Phew! Julian Lennon is still a little bit older than I am. I’m glad I haven’t caught up to him yet.

    Reply
  4. It’s great that you bought chicks. Wow, they’re so cheap! I hope they help feed you for quite some time.
    I love my life, but I enjoy news, too. There’s always something going on. I think the Iron Lady had a lot of qualities that were amazing, and she should be a role model for girls, rather than the little Hollywood stars.

    Reply
    • Kathryn, she was a tough old bird for sure, but she said what she meant and meant what she said, something we don’t see in many politicians nowadays. Thanks for the visit. I love that you love your life.

      Reply
  5. I loved the photos you shared about the chicks. And it sounds wonderful. 🙂 I hope you’ve had a great day. Me? I’m cooking up some interesting writing/art things…

    Reply
  6. Awwww….I love that picture! I think it’s great what you’re doing with the little chicks. They were lucky to have gotten picked for your home. Look forward to seeing more pics.

    Reply
    • Mel, it’s such a simple thing, but we are getting great pleasure out of it. We sit each night and hold them, and I swear they are growing daily before our eyes. In another few days they will be too big for the container we have them in. Great fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

