RSS Feed

Little Girls, Little Chickens and Simple Pleasures

Posted on

chickens 41713 006Let me share a couple things that happened yesterday.  They aren’t biggies in the grand scheme of things. In fact, they are pretty ordinary.  Still, I think they reflect the Simple Life pretty well.

A month ago I planted a whole bunch of bulbs.  I love to plant stuff.  Long ago we were all hunters and gatherers, and then we became farmers.  I have ancestors who were farmers; my grandparents had a corn farm in Iowa and lost it during the Great Depression, so I have a special place in my heart for the farming life.

There is something about the smell of fresh dirt and the feel of it between your fingers….but my greatest thrill is seeing new plants break the ground and reach for the sun, and that’s what happened yesterday.  The first of those bulbs broke through the top of the soil, and I instantly smiled.  Soon all fifty of them will be above ground, and in a couple months there will be a profusion of color in our yard, and I will smile then too.random backyard pics 002

Then yesterday afternoon I got an email from a former student.  Steve is 33 years old now and has a family of his own, and he emailed me and wanted to know if it would be alright to bring a little girl over to see the baby chicks we have.  The little girl suffers from some disease and Steve said it would mean a lot to her if she could spend some time with the little babies.

Are you kidding?  Bev and I immediately started cleaning the house because let’s face it, that’s what we all do when we know company is coming. At six o’clock our company arrived, and you should have seen the smile on the face of that eight year old girl when she held the baby chickens.  Bev sat down on the floor with her, and the two of them spent about half an hour naming all the chickens.  By the end of the visit I had tears in my eyes.

It was so simple to bring joy into the life of this little girl who has had to struggle with her disease.  So simple!

I suspect we all know someone who could benefit from a simple act of kindness.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

14 responses »

  1. Larry Kitzmann

    Hi Bill
    As a retired teacher I can only add, it’s why we do what we do. One step at a time while not always knowing the impact it may have on others till often years later. Take care my friend

    Reply
  2. I loved reading this today and seriously warmed my heart to hear how much this touched this little girl and seriously what a wonderful, yet simple thing both you and Bev did for her. But then again, I wouldn’t expect anything less from both of you!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. You never know just how you’ll make a difference in someone’s life. And fresh dirt is addictive: to walk in, to play in and to hold. Fantastic blog post and enjoy the chicks.

    Reply
  4. Thanks Cyndi! Chickens are only cute for about a month. We will enjoy them for that time for sure. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Such a beautiful story! I am coming to realize my own connection to farming (my Mom’s family farmed in Southern Illinois) and my deep sense of awe when life springs forth from under dirt. It’s pretty amazing! I am growing kale, basil and green onions on my balcony and I am weeks away from my first worm composting project. Soon I’ll have a whole ecosystem in my apartment!! It feels right to be reconnecting to the earth, because that is our source. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Katie! I hope you are doing well. I love that you love gardening. Growing thigs does feel right, doesn’t it? I get the biggest thrill out of watching seedling sprout. A very peaceful exercise for sure.

      Reply
  6. That’s beautiful, Bill! I’m sure you made that little girl’s day and that this memory will be something she’ll never forget. 🙂

    Reply
    • Mel, she was one excited little girl. That would be my dream place in a few years….a little farm where kids could come and be with animals….what a wonderful place that would be. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Bill this was so heartwarming. I’m glad that little girl got to experience this and that it brought some joy into her life. Hey, now that they’re all named you’ve got to introduce them.

    Reply
  8. Hi Bill,
    What a wonderful thing you both did for this little girl and yes simple but so so meaningful for everyone there, particularly this little girl. I would say the joy on her face holding the chicks was something else! Kids love naming things so no doubt this was a fun time for Bev and all watching. What a great day you had. Well done my friend reading this really touched my heart 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Suzie! Bev is just a big kid at heart and she loves to play with little children…she was in heaven, the little girl was in heaven, and my heart smiled at the sight of it all. 🙂 Do you have a blog? I need to follow it if you do.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

