RSS Feed

Abundance In Simplicity

Posted on

 

I am very happy to introduce you all to Sheri from HubPages.  She has graciously agreed to do my guest blog today and I am very appreciative.  You can find her work on HubPages here and I encourage you to read some of her articles.  Now, here she is……

 

rose-in-the-handsWhat does living a simple life mean? Those of us that are living simple know it is much more than just saying no to the excesses of modern life. It is not about what we do without, although many of us, by choice or necessity do indeed go without some of the material things that other people in the world seem to want so badly. And that is the secret to living successfully in the simple life mindset. Wants change. Drastically. Where once upon a time we may have wanted new furniture, the latest electronic gadget, yet another pair of brand label shoes, prestige and peer recognition, now, we want an abundance of  time, peace of mind and quiet. We want to savour life, sip at it slowly and notice. We want people, nature, love and relationships to be our focus. We want to know ourselves, and we want to ponder and wonder. We are conscious of time, the passing of it and the gift of it. Simple living is not so much saying no to something but a joyous yes to living up to our own ideals, no matter that it bucks the norms of current society. It is not going without, but going within.

Thank you so much, Sheri!

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

13 responses »

  1. Beautiful Sheri and couldn’t agree more and wonderful guest post, Bill!!

    Reply
  2. This is true…though I have an interesting dilemma: I love the country but I’m finding it necessary to be in the city more and more. But it’s okay cuz Asheville is all about organic, sustainable living…bike lanes everywhere, organic shops…ALL OVER THE PLACE. LOL…I think I’d like to move there now. haha. Anyways…we were talking about simplicity. Yes! I have a tendency to over-complicate things if I let my mind run amok. Actually, it happens far more often than I’d care to admit. 😉

    Reply
    • Well heck, Cyndi, at least you are aware of it.LOL….I think Asheville sounds fantastic…you can always return to the country, right? Nothing is forever except death, right? 🙂

      Reply
  3. Lovely message, Sheri! So much has changed in our lives since we’ve been averted into different directions (eating wise, job wise, etc). We are MUCH happier having less money coming in now, than what we were a few years ago. To think that I was earning a pretty large salary and we still couldn’t save for things like a trip overseas! Just goes to show what all materialistic (eating out, etc) things we were spending the money on. Could literally kick myself. But, you live and learn. And we’re so happy and blessed to be where we are now. Thanks for this lovely Friday message!

    Reply
    • Thank you Mel! I’m very happy for you and your husband. You learned an important message at a much younger age than I was when I learned it. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

      Reply
  4. I just love your final statement, “… but going within.” Since opting for the simple life I have found more of me – what I believe in. I have found the quietness and peacefulness that you mention. I enjoyed your message a lot.

    Reply
  5. That is a great message. Priorities change, and it is nice to slow down and enjoy life.

    Reply
  6. Hi Bill, doc again. peace of mind, quiet, love and relationships over material possessions and prestige any day. Good message.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

