RSS Feed

Do You Complicate Your Life?

Posted on

teacherWhat do you do to complicate your life?  A simple question for sure but I have the feeling the answer is not that simple.

Think about it…..each one of us sabotages our serenity at certain points during the day, and I think that is very natural.  But what about the long run?  What do we do that has long-lasting effects and upsets our own personal banana cart?

Do we work longer hours than necessary?  Do we buy things on credit that we really can’t afford? Do we have unhealthy expectations of others?  Do we constantly want things instead of concentrating on our needs?

Let’s look at it from a different angle.  What is the largest problem in your life today?  Got it?  Now, what part did you play in the existence of that problem?miscellaneous....and steph 004

Living Simple is not rocket science.  It is understanding priorities and then moving towards those priorities.  For me, happiness is a priority, as is love.  As long as I concentrate on those two things, my life is very simple.  If I deviate and begin searching for things that have nothing to do with true happiness or love, then I am asking for trouble.

Bev and I just got done talking about her taking on another part-time job.  She wants to work Saturdays for some invalid woman who needs someone to watch over her.  All well and good, and the pay is fine and we could use some extra money.

DSCN0948On the other hand, Saturdays are our days together, the days when we enjoy each other’s company and go do our runabouts and little drives in the country, so we would be giving that up if she took the job.

We haven’t come to a consensus yet, but I can tell you which way I am leaning.

Happiness + Love = Living Simple!

 

I know, I said I would be doing this blog any longer, but I just had a wild hair and decided to do it….whether it continues or not is anyone’s guess. J  Thanks for stopping by and I hope you are having a simple, loving, happy day.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

16 responses »

  1. I am glad you didn’t take down the blog so when those moments strike you can share with us.
    Maybe, that should be the intent of a simple living blog? No pressure to post consistently, just random little reminders to keep it simple.
    Thanks Bill.

    Reply
    • Perhaps you have hit on a solution. I would do this every day if I could find the time. Today the mood hit me and here we are. Thanks for stopping by my friend.

      Reply
  2. Ok. I don’t know how I missed that last post. I think I even asked you if you were continuing with this one. I’m a slacker cyber-groupie.

    Anyway, here’s an idea: hows about you and Bev go to garage sales and thrift stores on Saturdays and pick up stuff to sell on eBay? That way, you could make a few extra bucks AND still spend time together! Woot! Our buddy Joe got me hooked on “picking” and selling on eBay, and it looks like I’m addicted to the videos and finding bargains to sell. Just thought I’d throw that idea at you.

    It’s easy to make life too complicated these days. I have no use for it anymore. Life’s too short.

    Reply
    • Hey Lizzy…it was your question about continuing this blog that got me to write another entry in it. I actually love the message of this blog, but I just have to find the time to do it on a regular basis.

      As for ebay….I’ll mention it to Bev. I don’t know if she would go for it or not, but it’s something to think about. I like the idea but whether Bev will or not is a whole different ball of wax. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Thanks Lizzy! I just let Bev think that she is the boss. LOL

    Reply
  4. Hi Bill, this is Doc. I’m glad to follow your blog. Thought provoking questions. I have something to think about tonight & hopefully find ways to improve or make changes. Happiness + Love= Living Simple is the prescription. jotting this down as a reminder. thanks for sharing. voted+++

    Reply
  5. Deep thoughts, Bill.

    Yup, gotta make our lives simple…cause that is just an added stress…lol

    Reply
  6. Larry Kitzmann

    WOW—both surprised and happy to see your blog once again. As you may know I’ve dropped my Facebook account in an attempt to even further simplify my life. It’s amazing how much more time this has given me for my own writing. I’m thinking whatever decision is made you two will always find a way to be happy and at peace. Take care my friend and again glad to see this blog up and running if only on a as time allows basis. It is much appreciated.

    Reply
    • Well, Larry, it was your reaction and Lizzy’s that made me decide to write it again. As long as a couple people are enjoying the message then it’s worth writing. Thank you my friend and good luck with that writing.

      Reply
  7. Hi Bill,
    So glad like the others that you did not take down the blog! have it there as a when you want to write it do and not let it be too consuming to many would miss you and your words of wisdom!

    Reply
  8. I like that you left it up, so that when the mood strikes you can write something. It gets it off your chest (which is healthy), it is useful to your readers, and it probably doesn’t take away from your other writing for long enough to matter. I enjoy any post you do, and living simple is really a great thing to strive for.

    Reply
    • Kathryn, I was hoping you would discover this post. I know you believe in living simple, so I’m glad you are here. I’ll pop up now and again with some other thoughts. Thanks for returning. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

