RSS Feed

Still Living the Simple Life

Posted on

writer's digest and chickens 002It’s been a long time since I wrote on this blog.  I hope you all don’t mind the sudden visit.

Since I first started this blog almost two years ago, I have seen nothing that can change my viewpoints on living simple.  There are too many economic problems today for anyone to blithely say that everything will be all right.

70% of the United States economy is consumer-based.  Stop and think about that for a second.  Okay you say, so what?  Here’s the so what……what if the consumers can’t afford to buy products?

Does that seem far-fetched to you?  Then you aren’t paying attention.  Full-time jobs have been replaced by part-time jobs and the government calls that progress and good economic news.  40% of Americans are one paycheck away from poverty….one paycheck!  The statistics are unbelievable and still people don’t wake up to the fact that change must happen and it must happen with them.

I have not owned a car for two years.  Bev has one for her job but I haven’t had one since my Ford Ranger blew a rod and died an ugly death.  Do I miss having transportation? Of course!  Do I need it?  Not at all!  I have the money right now to go out and buy a used compact pickup truck, but I won’t do it simply because I don’t need it.

We owe no money to credit companies.  We have lowered our bills by 30% over the past two years and we will lower them another 20% this year.  We have done it by adopting responsible spending and buying only according to need.

We do not have arguments about money? We have no stress caused by money problems.  How about you?  Can you say the same thing?  I hope so….I really do….but if not, then you might want to consider living a simpler lifestyle.

Have a great day. I’m going to go feed the chickens and then get back to writing.

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

17 responses »

  1. And I am off to teach-but I couldn’t resist stopping in!

    Reply
  2. I argue with my son about money all the time. He doesn’t make a lot, but he only has two bills. Well, 3 if you count the rent he hasn’t paid me in months! I have no idea where his money goes. I think he buys lunch out a lot because he doesn’t pack a lunch and he only comes home for lunch when he’s broke.Hopefully, one day he’ll learn!

    Reply
  3. Since I’ve taken a break from FB I was more than happy to see this in my regular e-mail. You are so right Bill. I have a car a 1997 Lumina I inherited from my mother. Like you I could get a newer one but why. I can take the bus or walk to everything I need right here in Ann Arbor. I’m spending the next month or so doing some serious reading and thinking on the whole living more simply so that others may simply live. The Mayan peasants I saw when in Cancun impressed me significantly. Where others saw slums or poor living standards I saw something quite different which I hope to explore more fully. As always take care my friend.

    Reply
  4. I agree we gotta live within our means to avoid this crunch eat us cause honestly none of us can do without money so might as well use it wisely 🙂

    wise words, Bill

    Reply
  5. I agree that the simple lifestyle is the way to go. We don’t need those extras and we understand what is truly important. Many hugs!

    Reply
    • Many hugs back at you, Christy. Believe me, I would love to be able to afford a vacation, but since I can’t I’m not going into debt for one….simple is better for all concerned.

      Reply
  6. Yeah, and get this – he borrows money from my son! He’s got a fully paid for house (that his parents left behind) and borrows money from my son who is half his age. Criminy, what is wrong with people??????

    Reply
  7. Hello Bill. Fortunately, I CAN say the same thing. You mentioned your truck and being without it. Well, I have a truck, too and when it needed repairing, instead of repairing it, I registered it with the DMV as “non-operating” and called my insurance company to lower my policy to cover “theft only”. It had been that way for about two years. It is only recently that I considered repairing it because now I need it to help haul supplies and stuff to the property. But wait… I didn’t send the vehicle to just any ol’ mechanic. I wanted to save money, so I sent it to the local Jr. college where they are repairing it “free of labor”. We only need to pay for parts, and the bonus here is that the school gets a deep discount for parts. We’re winning! I’m here to say that people don’t have to spend a ton of money to get things done. Oh, the college only works on the truck one hour a week. They have had the truck for almost two months now. That’s OK. The students are learning a lot (because my truck needs a lot of repairs) and I’m in no hurry. One of the keys to saving money is, “Never be in a hurry.” I use to tell my clients that the person who is in the biggest hurry loses the most. Now that I’m taking a slower pace in life, I’m saving more money. By the way, Bill, I am glad to read your random post to a topic that is so close to my heart. Feel free to burst out like this again. (smiling)

    Reply
    • Marlene, I absolutely love that you are doing that with your truck. Bravo my friend. What a perfect solution. You and I are cut from the same cloth. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your ingenious way to handle a need.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

