RSS Feed

Finding Happiness in the Unconventional Simplicity of Life

Posted on

teacherHappy Friday to all of my friends out there in the cyberworld.  What shall we talk about today?

I’m coming up on four years since I quit a full-time teaching job and started on this path as a writer.  One day I just decided I had had enough of the working world.  It helped having my principal call me unprofessional, but honestly, before that fateful moment, I had been giving serious thought to just quitting…..so I have her to thank for that. J

Was I afraid?  There was about a ten minute window as I was leaving the school and driving home where my hands were shaking.  What had I done?  How could I just toss away a decent-paying job?  And benefits?  Was I mad????

But then a calm came over me and I really was at peace with my decision, and I have been ever since.

The simple truth was that I was not happy and I needed to make a drastic change so that I could enjoy life once again….and I was willing to risk it all for that happiness.

That’s why I’m such an advocate for the simple life.  I have had the “good life” of possessions and six-figure income, and it did nothing for me other than raise my blood pressure.

I have no idea if you are happy. I hope you are.  I hope you haven’t gotten yourselves trapped in the spending game and can’t find a way out of it.  I hope you have an escape plan so that you can start enjoying the art of living simple rather than just survive.

Life is good today.  I cut back on my expectations.  I surrounded myself with love.  I believe in my abilities and I’m just crazy enough to take risks if they seem worth taking.  Hey, what’s the worst that can happen to me? I fail and then I get up and try again.  Been there, done that, and written the book. J

Have a great weekend!

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

12 responses »

  1. I’m a firm believer in stepping out of unhappy situations. Especially at this stage in life. If not now, when?

    Reply
  2. Been there done that myself. As always my friend have a great weekend.

    Reply
  3. For sure, you did the right thing. It’s a good day to be happy. Enjoy your weekend.

    Reply
  4. So true:) I think this is what it is all about. We believe that a good, well payed job is the way to happiness. And so it shows it’s not. At least for some of us that don’t believe in reaching higher up in our companies. I really like your view and aspects of life.

    Reply
  5. I am glad you are aware of your boundaries and know what makes you happy 🙂

    Hope you had a good weekend, Bill

    Reply
  6. Michael Milec

    Hello my friend. What a commendable man of decision you are . Worthy of admiration. You’ve talked to me inspirationally; the one in particulate I need to do: “to have enough of the working world…” (Just quit workaholism )
    Thank you, and God bless you.

    Reply
    • Michael my friend, good morning and Happy Sunday! We all learn from each other, or at least hopefully we do. Thank you kind sir, and have a blessed day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

