RSS Feed

The Essentials of Life

Posted on

 

wash d.c.Happy Weekend to you all!  I normally don’t post anything on the weekends, but I wrote this on Friday and I just didn’t see any point in having it sit around gathering dust.

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

Henry David Thoreau
I love those words by the Father of Simple Living.  “The essential facts of life”…..and what would those be?

I submit to you my interpretation of what is essential….once we get past the need for food, water, and shelter, my belief is that love is essential for a quality life.

“I searched for love my entire life, only to find it within myself.”

Keep it simple my friends.  Love yourself.  Love your family.  Love others.  Do those three things, and you have no need for three cars, 6,000 square feet of living space, and a garage full of useless possessions.

Think about that this weekend, and blessings to all of you.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

8 responses »

  1. Beautifully said, Bill. Happy Mothers Day from me to Bev (I sent her a card to your email address).

    Reply
  2. Clear-eyed Sky

    Love that Thoreau quote. It’s one you have to read a few times to let it absorb.

    Reply
  3. They say, “The greatest is LOVE.” Much love to you, Bill. Give Bev a hug for me on Mother’s Day. Enjoy your weekend.

    Reply
  4. Michael Milec

    Happy weekend to you too my friend, William D. Holland.
    Absolutely fabulous not seeing “any point in having it sit around gathering dust.” And then the most predictable ‘ that love is essential for a quality life.”
    Happy Mother’s Day; enjoy your weekend.
    Back to ” love is essential…” Do You know what goes through my small brain when i hear / see the word love ? Let me tell you , ( just between the two of us ). All my life on this continent – never in Europe – love was everywhere and everything. So I started asking the people of different age and stage, educated or no, ” What is love ? most of the answers came in descriptive story what I feel, what I get what I want and what I love. Bu what is Love? — You are crazy. I’ve heard it just enough times to think about, how come that I am crazy… OK then what is that who/what I am ?! Reading the definitions, one or two made sense to me: “possessed by enthusiasm or excitement”, ( that’s me ); slang: unpredictable , ( that sound correct ) or with great energy ( yes again). But how about the simple definition, everybody goes with ,” crazy” you are insane. . . ( this hearts; could be so- am I ?”)
    Knowing myself , i am normal. I know so, because i used to believe so for such a long time that became obvious to me that I am “normal”. I have found the millennia long ,never changing answer to the question what love is. So crazy as I am, I will proclaim it now and throughout all eternity :” God is LOVE. Those who live in God’s love live in God, and God lives in them .” Yet the same in slightly different arrangement,”God is LOVE, and he who continues to love continues in union with God, and God continues in union with him.”
    Bill my friend, there has been objection to this statement; some even hesitating to ask: and what is, God- because , consequently, what else you can expect from a crazy one , he will start again, ” God is love…”
    Wishing you above all very blessed weekend.
    michaEL

    Reply
    • Michael my friend, yours is as good a definition as I have heard. I had a mentor tell me the same thing a very long time ago….God is love and love is God….pretty simple, don’t you think? And yet people are always trying to make it more difficult.

      Have a marvelous Sunday my friend.

      bill

      Reply

Leave a Reply

