RSS Feed

Finally, A Backyard Vision

Planning on what to do with the backyard has been a bit like waiting for my muse to guide me through a short story or a novel.  There are times the inspiration arrives quickly; there are other times I don’t think I can even spell inspiration.

I’ve been on hold in the backyard because we really couldn’t come up with any ideas about what to do back there.  We had kind of an overview, but nothing specific.  Then there was the skyrocketing price of lumber. Finally, though, about a month ago it came to me.  Unfortunately, so did the heatwave, so all work was put on hold.  Now I find out I have to have total hip replacement the end of September, so any work in back will have to wait until December.

But we have a vision, and that’s a huge step in the right direction.

Look closely

If you look closely at this picture you can see pathways I am digging out.  I’m going to put borders along each of those pathways, fill them with mulch (actually, I finished filling most of them already), and then we will plant perennials and annuals along them.  In the end, we will have a series of winding paths surrounded by flowering beauty.

That hill? I think I already mentioned it, but that hill will be supported and surrounded by large rocks, and we will have a small waterfall come off the hill; that will become a stream; and the stream will empty into a pond.

Look even more closely

Those sections of cattle fencing? We will have vines trained over them (currently Morning Glories, but next year Honeysuckle), and a seating area underneath for hot summer days, very similar to the grape arbor, which filled in beautifully this summer.

And under that grape arbor will be a deck, just as soon as I’m moving around again and the price of lumber drops.

Sheez, I’m tired just thinking about it

But I’m also excited to get started.  This summer was kind of a washout. It was much too warm to do much of anything physical; add to that the pain in my hip and, well, the summer of 2021 just didn’t happen the way I planned.

So be it! Such is life!  We move on and do what we can.  I’m just glad my gardening/landscaping muse finally showed up and whispered in my ear.

I hope this finds you well. Thanks for stopping by.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.

14 responses »

  1. Your garden idea is wonderful, Bill. It will be peaceful, beautiful and will prove to be a sanctuary for humans, dogs, birds, and pollinators. I look forward to seeing the finished product. It’s already looking mighty fine!

    I hope your surgery goes well. Any idea how you’ll spend your recovery time?

    Reply
  2. I have no doubt you will finish this project, even if it is not in the timeframe you would have preferred. You have a lot of interesting things happening in your backyard already, and you do have a vision. I like the idea of a little water fall. It will be nice when it is done, Bill.

    Reply
  3. I Love it, Bill.
    It’s very creative and wishing you luck in its completion.

    Reply
  4. I love it all! I love pathways, ponds, and arbors. It is going to be like a little piece of heaven in your backyard.

    Reply
  5. This is looking great Bill! You have been busy!

    Reply
  6. All your work to date and plans for the backyard are super and you will get to your vision, don’t worry. I know heat was against you this Summer as it was for us here. Your planting ideas and paths sound gorgeous. Good luck with your surgery Bill and keep us up to speed!

    Reply

Leave a comment